This site is available for historical purposes only and is not maintained.

Home AGU Home  |  AGU Meetings

 

Sun Valley Resort

Deadlines*

All deadline times are 23:59 Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) or 03:59+1 GMT. See to find your deadline.

Contact Information

If you would like to receive future updates about this conference, please contact the AGU Meetings Department. For information about the scientific program, please contact one of the conveners via e-mail.

AGU Meetings Department
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20009 USA
Phone: +1 202 777 7330
E-mail:

Examining Ecohydrological Feedbacks of Landscape Change Along Elevation Gradients in Semiarid Regions

Boise and Sun Valley, Idaho USA
4–8 October 2009

Conference Objectives

The purpose of this Chapman conference is to examine the ecohydrological feedbacks of landscape change along elevation gradients in semiarid regions. We will explicitly examine the ecohydrological changes taking place in these landscapes, across elevation and precipitation gradients. We propose the seemingly simple guiding question, “Are there ecohydrological trends across precipitation gradients?” and then focus our efforts on specifically contrasting the ecohydrology of spatially contiguous precipitation gradients (e.g., elevation gradients) with conceptually organized precipitation gradients (e.g., semiarid vs. more humid systems). Our goal is to help scientists from different disciplinary backgrounds and land managers better understand and address the substantial changes occurring in semiarid landscapes.

Conveners

Bradford P. Wilcox, Texas A&M University, USA
bwilcox@tamu.edu
Mark S. Seyfried, Northwest Watershed Research Center, USA
mark.seyfried@ars.usda.gov
Jeffrey J. McDonnell, Oregon State University, USA
jeff.mcdonnell@oregonstate.edu
Dave Breshears, University of Arizona, USA
daveb@email.arizona.edu

Program Committee

Amilcare Porporato, Duke University, USA, amilcare@duke.edu
Barbara Bond, Oregon State University, USA, barbara.bond@oregonstate.edu
Brent Newman, Int. Atomic Energy Agency, USA, b.newman@iaea.org
Danny Marks, Northwest Watershed Research Center, USA, ars.danny@gmail.com
David Williams, University of Wyoming, USA, dgw@uwyo.edu
Derek Eamus, University of Technology, USA, derek.eamus@uts.edu.au
Enrique Vivoni, Arizona State University, USA, vivoni@asu.edu
John Wainwright, University of Sheffield, UKj.wainwright@sheffield.ac.uk
Kelly Caylor, Princeton University, USA, kcaylor@princeton.edu
Russell Scott, Southwest Watershed Res. Center, USA
Travis Huxman, University of Arizona, USA, huxman@email.arizona.edu

Financial Sponsors

The conference organizers wish to gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the following sponsors for their substantial student support for this conference.

NSF       USDA       USDA-ARS     Univ Idaho

Basin