Home AGU Home  |  AGU Meetings

 

Maullin image

Chile

Deadlines*

All deadline times are 23:59 Eastern Time (ET) or 03:59+1 GMT. See to find your deadline.

Contact Information

AGU Meetings Department
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20009 USA
Phone: +1 202 777 7330
E-mail:

AGU Chapman Conference on Giant Earthquakes and Their Tsunamis

Valparaíso, Viña del Mar, and Valdivia, Chile
16–24 May 2010
(includes the 50th anniversary of the giant 1960 Chile earthquake and tsunami)


Update: Five days of presentations and discussions will take place 16 May - 20 May, mainly in Vina del Mar. These will be limited to the participants except for a public event on 17 May, in Valparaiso. Participants are welcome to join in a one-day public commemoration of the 1960 mainshock, to take place in Valdivia on May 22. Post-meeting activities will also include geological field trips.

Conference Objectives

The conference is intended to promote scientific understanding of earthquakes of magnitude 9 (giant earthquakes) and of associated tsunamis. Though global in scope, the conference will use Chilean subduction zones, which face the country's entire 4,000-km length, to help focus discussions of where and why these earthquakes occur. Topics will include subduction-zone properties previously interpreted as controls on maximum earthquake size; patterns of earthquake recurrence in relation to the region’s earthquake and tsunami history; and hazard assessments for building codes and tsunami safety.

Conveners

Brian Atwater, U.S. Geological Survey, atwater@usgs.gov
Sergio Barrientos, Universidad de Chile, sbarrien@dgf.uchile.cl
Marco Cisternas, Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, marco.cisternas@ucv.cl
Kelin Wang, Geological Survey of Canada, kwang@nrcan.gc.ca

Program Committee

Rolando Armijo, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, armijo@ipgp.jussieu.fr
Susan Beck, University of Arizona, slbeck@email.arizona.edu
Susan Bilek, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, sbilek@nmt.edu
Jaime Campos, Universidad de Chile, jaime@dgf.uchile.cl
Diana Comte, Universidad de Chile, dcomte@dgf.uchile.cl
Edgar Kausel, Universidad de Chile, ekausel@dgf.uchile.cl
Jurgen Klotz, Geo-Forschungs-Zentrum Potsdam, klotz@gfz-potsdam.de
Raul Madariaga, École Normale Supérieure, madariag@geologie.ens.fr
Daniel Melnick, Potsdam University, melnick@geo.uni-potsdam.de
Mario Pino, Universidad Austral de Chile, mario@gonfoterio.cl
Kenji Satake, University of Tokyo, satake@eri.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Claudio Vita-Finzi, Natural History Museum, London, cvitafinzi@aol.com
Robert Wesson, U.S. Geological Survey, rwesson@usgs.gov

Financial Sponsors

The conference organizers acknowledge the generous support of the following sponsors.

UNESCO IOC           ECM      PUVC     USGS     Chile

Further Information

If you would like to receive future updates about this conference,
e-mail chapman-help@agu.org, or call the AGU Meetings Department
at +1-202-777-7330.

For information about the scientific program, please contact the conveners via e-mail (addresses listed above).