Home AGU Home  |  AGU Meetings

 

New Mexican Chilies

Deadlines*

All deadline times are 23:59 Eastern Time (ET) or 03:59+1 GMT. See to find your deadline.

Contact Information

AGU Meetings Department
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20009 USA
Phone: +1 202 777 7330
E-mail:  chapman-help@agu.org

AGU Chapman Conference on Climates, Past Landscapes, and Civilizations

Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
21–25 March, 2011

Conference Objectives and General Description

Human society is intimately linked to the environment that sustains it. Civilizations have evolved during a period of unique climatic stability since the onset of the Holocene, around 10 ka. However, even within this overall framework of stability, changes in regional and global climate have significantly impacted the development of societies. To understand the effects of climate change, population increase, and resource exploitation on modern societies, a better understanding of how climate, landscapes and civilizations have interacted in the past is needed. Although these processes impact most strongly poorer, less prepared countries, nevertheless, as Hurricane Katrina has shown, even the wealthiest countries are not immune to the effects of environmental catastrophe. This Chapman meeting will assess the present state of science on how mankind and the environment have interacted over a variety of time and spatial scales. We encourage participation of scientists from across the fields of the ocean and Earth sciences, as well as anthropology, archaeology and historical sciences to present their recent research. Although the meeting will feature keynote speakers and established researchers we encourage participation from early career workers and Ph.D. students.

Conveners

Peter Clift, University of Aberdeen, UK, p.clift@abdn.ac.uk
Dorian Fuller, University College London, UK, d.fuller@ucl.ac.uk
Liviu Giosan, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA, lgiosan@whoi.edu
Rowan Flad, Harvard University, USA, rflad@fas.harvard.edu
Sam VanLaningham, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, USA, samvan@sfos.uaf.edu
Jim Aimers, Statue University of New York, Geneseo, USA, jim_aimers@yahoo.com

Program Committee

Raymond Bradley, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA, rbradley@geo.umass.edu
Zhongyuan Chen, East China Normal University, Shanghai, zychen@geo.ecnu.edu.cn
John Day, Louisiana State University, johnday@lsu.edu
G. Mathias Kondolf, University of California, Berkeley, USA, kondolf@berkeley.edu
Peter DeMenocal, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, USA, Peter@ldeo.columbia.edu
Mark Macklin, Aberystwyth University, UK, mvm@aber.ac.uk
David Montgomery, University of Washington, USA, dave@ess.washington.edu
Michael Staubwasser, University of Cologne, Germany, m.staubwasser@uni-koeln.de

Co-Sponsor

BSRG    QRA logo

Financial Support

The conference organizers acknowledge the generous support of the following organization:

Woods Hole    IAS

Travel Support

The deadline for Travel Support has passed.

Further Information

If you would like to receive future updates about this conference, e-mail chapman-climatesociety@agu.org or call the AGU Meetings Department at +1-202-777-7330.

For information about the scientific program, please contact Peter Clift via e-mail: p.clift@abdn.ac.uk