Home AGU Home  |  AGU Meetings

 

Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort

Deadlines*

All deadline times are 23:59 Eastern Time (ET) or 03:59+1 GMT. See to find your deadline.

Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel & Resort

Contact Information

AGU Meetings Department
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20009 USA
Phone: +1 202-777-7329
E-mail:  chapman-help@agu.org

AGU Chapman Conference on Source to Sink Systems Around the World and Through Time 

Recent Advances in Understanding Production, Transfer, and Burial of Terrestrial and Marine Materials on the Earth Surface

Oxnard, California, USA
24–27 January 2011

Conference Objectives and General Description

The general goal of this conference is to articulate the ideas that are the foundation for a holistic understanding of sediment dispersal from land origins to marine accumulation, and to explore the theoretical and observational studies that support them.

This Chapman Conference will substantially expand the results of individual source-to-sink research projects by contrasting diverse dispersal systems. An attempt will be made to resolve fundamental differences in the operation of processes that transfer mass across the Earth surface. This effort will develop a global perspective with studies from around the world, and will facilitate the synthesis and integration of S2S research as part of an inclusive international conference, a digital text, and classroom materials.

Conveners

Charles A. Nittrouer, School of Oceanography, University of Washington, nittroue@ocean.washington.edu

Steven A. Kuehl, Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences, College of William & Mary, kuehl@vims.edu

Program Committee

Robert C. Aller, Stony Brook University, raller@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Neal E. Blair, Northwestern University, n-blair@northwestern.edu
Michael D. Blum, ExxonMobil Research Company, mike.blum@exxonmobil.com
Robert W. Dalrymple, Queen's University, Canada, dalrymple@geol.queensu.ca
William E. Dietrich, University of California, Berkeley, bill@eps.berkeley.edu
Andre W. Droxler, Rice University, andre@rice.edu
Thomas Dunne, University of California, Santa Barbara, tdunne@bren.ucsb.edu
Alberto G. Figueiredo, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil, alberto@igeo.uff.br
Stephan A. Graham, Stanford University, sagraham@stanford.edu
Cathryn A. Manduca, Carleton College, cmanduca@carleton.edu
Kathleen M. Marsaglia, California State University, Northridge, kathie.marsaglia@csun.edu
Ole J. Martinsen, StatOil, Norway, OJMA@Statoil.com
Alan Orpin, NIWA, New Zealand, a.orpin@niwa.co.nz
Gary Parker, University of Illinois, parkerg@illinois.edu
Carlos Pirmez, Shell Oil Company, Carlos.Pirmez@shell.com
Piret Plink-Bjorklund, Colorado School of Mines, pplink@mines.edu
Joshua J. Roering, University of Oregon, jroering@uoregon.edu
Brian W. Romans, Chevron Energy Technology, Brian.Romans@chevron.com
Yoshiki Saito, Geological Survey of Japan, yoshiki.saito@aist.go.jp
Rudy Slingerland, Pennsylvania State University, rxs15@psu.edu
James P.M. Syvitski, University of Colorado, James.Syvitski@Colorado.edu
Robert A. Wheatcroft, Oregon State University, raw@coas.oregonstate.edu

Financial Support

The conference organizers acknowledge the generous support of the following organizations.

NSF       CSDMS       Statoil

Statoil Chevron SEPM


Exxon Mobil

Travel Support

Some funds will be available to help with travel support of graduate and undergraduate students, who would like to participate in the conference. To be considered, students should submit abstracts. More information can be obtained by contacting the conference conveners: Chuck Nittrouer (nittroue@ocean.washington.edu) and Steve Kuehl (kuehl@vims.edu).

Further Information

If you would like to receive future updates about this conference, e-mail chapman-source2sink@agu.org or call the AGU Meetings Department at +1-202-777-7329.

For information about the scientific program, please contact one of the conveners via e-mail: Chuck Nittrouer (University of Washington) at nittroue@ocean.washington.edu or Steve Kuehl (College of William & Mary) at kuehl@vims.edu.