Home AGU Home  |  AGU Meetings

 
Deadlines*

All deadline times are 23:59 Eastern Time (ET) or 03:59+1 GMT. See to find your deadline.

Contact Information

AGU Meetings Department
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20009 USA
Phone: +1 202 777 7330
E-mail:  chapman-help@agu.org

Dynamics of the Earth's Radiation Belts and Inner Magnetosphere

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
17–22 July 2011

Conference Objectives and General Description

Despite some 50 years of space research, fundamental questions remain concerning the physics of Earth's radiation belts and inner magnetosphere. Our ability to protect spacecraft systems from the hazardous space environment depends on our knowledge of geospace. In the last decade there has been a resurgence in radiation belt research in parallel with the development of the new discipline of space weather science. As a culmination of these efforts, in 2012 there will be the launch of the NASA Radiation Belt Storm Probes (RBSP) and Balloon Array for RBSP Relativistic Electron Loss (BARREL) missions which are designed to enhance our understanding of the dynamical behavior of Earth's radiation belts. Subsequent to 2012 are planned launches of the Canadian Outer Radiation Belt Injection, Transport, Acceleration, and Loss Satellite (ORBITALS) and the Japanese Energization and Radiation in Geospace (ERG) satellite which will complement RBSP by making further in situ measurements of Earth's radiation belt zone. The conference will address the following questions:

  1. What is our current state of knowledge of Earth's radiation belts from particle, wave and magnetic field observations? What further data are essential?
  2. What is the state of preparedness of the RBSP, BARREL, ORBITALS and ERG missions? What do these missions expect to accomplish?
  3. How good is our modeling, simulation and theory of the radiation belts? Do we understand the particle transport, acceleration and loss processes?
  4. How does radiation belt behavior link to or couple with the ring current, plasmasphere and ionosphere? What are the key energy coupling processes that connect these components of the inner magnetosphere?
  5. What are the current key space weather issues related to the radiation belts and inner magnetosphere? How can we better protect satellites from the space environment?
  6. How do the physical processes that control Earth's radiation belts compare and contrast with the processes that operate in other radiation belts? How do the particle acceleration mechanisms that generate Earth's radiation belts relate to other cosmic phenomena?

Conveners

Danny Summers, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's (Canada)
       dsummers@mun.ca
Ian Mann, University of Alberta, Edmonton (Canada) imann@phys.ualberta.ca
Daniel Baker, University of Colorado, Boulder (USA)
       Daniel.Baker@lasp.colorado.edu

Program Committee

David Boteler, Natural Resources Canada, Ottawa, Ontario (Canada)
       dboteler@nrcan.gc.ca
Sebastien Bourdarie, CERT/ONERA, Toulouse (France)
       sebastien.bourdarie@onecert.fr
Joseph Fennell, Aerospace Corporation, Los Angeles, California (USA)
       joseph.fennell@aero.org
Brian Fraser, University of Newcastle, Callaghan, New South Wales (Australia)
       brian.fraser@newcastle.edu.au
Masaki Fujimoto, ISAS/JAXA, Kanagawa (Japan) fujimoto@stp.isas.jaxa.jp
Richard Horne, British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge (UK) rh@bas.ac.uk
Mona Kessel, NASA Headquarters, Washington, D.C. (USA) mona.kessel@nasa.gov
Craig Kletzing, University of Iowa, Iowa City (USA) craig-kletzing@uiowa.edu
Janet Kozyra, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA) jukozyra@umich.edu
Lou Lanzerotti, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark (USA) ljl@njit.edu
Robyn Millan, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire (USA)
       Robyn.Millan@dartmouth.edu
Yoshiharu Omura, RISH, Kyoto University (Japan) omura@rish.kyoto-u.ac.jp
Terry Onsager, NOAA, Boulder, Colorado (USA) terry.onsager@noaa.gov
Geoffrey Reeves, LANL, Los Alamos, New Mexico (USA) reeves@lanl.gov
Kazuo Shiokawa, STEL, Nagoya University (Japan)
       shiokawa@stelab.nagoya-u.ac.jp
Harlan Spence, Boston University, Massachusetts (USA) harlan.spence@unh.edu
David Thomson, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario (Canada)
       djt@mast.queensu.ca
Richard Thorne, Univeristy of California, Los Angeles (USA) rmt@atmos.ucla.edu
Andrew Yau, University of Calgary, Alberta (Canada) yau@phys.ucalgary.ca

Financial Support

APL     St. John's     Memorial University Newfoundland     WCU    NASA logo

Travel Support

The deadline for submission has passed. Those who applied for travel support prior to the deadline will be notified as soon as confirmation is received from the potential funder that support has been approved or denied.

Further Information

If you would like to receive future updates about this conference, e-mail chapman-radiationbelts@agu.org, or call the AGU Meetings Department at +1-202-777-7330.

For information about the scientific program, please contact one of the conveners via e-mail:

Danny Summers, Memorial University of Newfoundland dsummers@mun.ca
Ian Mann, University of Alberta imann@phys.ualberta.ca
Daniel Baker, University of Colorado Daniel.Baker@lasp.colorado.edu