AGU 2003 Fall Meeting; 8-12 December; San Francisco, CA   Program and Abstracts
 
 
•  Urgent Visa Information : Visa applicants now must apply at least 3 months in advance of their travel date.
•  Speakers and Session Chairs: Oral Session Guidelines; Poster Session Guidelines

Home 

Program & 
Abstracts
 

Exhibits 

Union & 
Section 
Activities
 

 
 
 

New Session Hours for the 2003 Fall Meeting

Session hours for the 2003 Fall Meeting are:

  8:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (0800h - 1000h)
10:20 a.m. - 12:20 p.m. (1020h - 1220h)
1:40 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. (1340h - 1540h)
4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. (1600h - 1800h)

The Program Committee has decided to slightly modify the format of the session hours which will increase the number of oral presentations at the meeting. Instead of the two half-day oral sessions each day as in the past, there will be four two-hour blocks each day. This change will increase the amount of time for oral sessions by about 20%.

Scientific Sessions and Abstracts

Abstract submission statistics

Meeting-at-a-Glance: A day-by-day list of sessions with links to abstracts

  • Select the sessions and presentations you want
  • Quick search by discipline, day/time, author, session chair, or title
  • View results in summary table form
  • Link to full abstracts
  • View sessions by Theme
  • FM03 Abstract Database: The complete searchable database of all abstracts presented at the meeting

  • Search by words or phrases in any field or combination of fields
  • Search by title, abstract text, authors, affiliation, e-mail, URL, session, chairperson, section, time, paper/session number, and index terms
  • Make subselections from the results list
  • Results presented in simple-to-read HTML format
  • Personal Meeting Itinerary: Select the sessions and events you plan to attend. Save, revise, and e-mail your itinerary to yourself or others.

    Speakers and Session Chairs


    Program Committee

    Chair and Union: Robert Wesson, U.S. Geological Survey, MS 966, Denver Federal Center, Box 25046, Denver, CO 80225-0046, USA; Tel: +1-303-273-8524, E-mail: rwesson@usgs.gov

    Atmospheric Sciences: Paul Novelli, NOAA CMDL/R/E CG1, 325 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80303, USA; Tel: +1-303-497-6974, Fax: +1-303-497-6290, E-mail: pnovelli@cmdl.noaa.gov

    Biogeosciences: Mary Voytek, U.S. Geological Survey, 12201 Sunrise Valley Dr., MS 430, Reston, VA 20192, USA; Tel: +1-703-648-6894, Fax: +1-703-648-5484, E-mail: mavoytek@usgs.gov

    Geodesy: Jeffrey T. Freymueller, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, Geophysical Institute, PO Box 757320, Fairbanks, AK 99775-7320, USA; Tel: +1-907-474-7286, Fax: +1-907-474-7290, E-mail: jeff@giseis.alaska.edu

    Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism: Ozden Ozdemir, Department of Physics, Erindale College, University of Toronto at Mississauga, 3359 Mississauga Rd. N., Mississauga, Ontario, L5L 1C6, Canada; Tel: +1-905-828-3829, Fax: +1-905-828-3717, E-mail: ozdemir@physics.utoronto.ca

    Hydrology: Eric Wood, Princeton University, Department of Civil Engineering, Princeton, NJ 08544-1003, USA; Tel: +1-609-258-4675, Fax: +1-609-258-2799, E-mail: efwood@princeton.edu

    Ocean Sciences: Molly O. Baringer, NOAA, 4301 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149, USA; Tel: +1-305-361-4345, E-mail: molly.baringer@noaa.gov

    Planetary Sciences: Martha S. Gilmore, Wesleyan University, Department of Earth and Environmental Science, 265 Church Street, Middletown, CT 06459, USA; Tel: +1-860-685-3129, Fax: +-1860-685-3651, E-mail: mgilmore@wesleyan.edu

    Seismology: Jeffrey Park, Yale University, Department of Geology and Geophysics, PO Box 208109, 210 Whitney Ave., New Haven, CT 06520-8109, USA; Tel: +1-203-432-3172, Fax: +1-203-432-3134, E-mail: jeffrey.park@yale.edu; and David Wald, U.S. Geological Survey, Golden, CO, USA; Tel: +1-303-273-8441, E-mail: wald@usgs.gov

    Space Physics and Aeronomy: Chair (SH): Gary P. Zank, University of California, Riverside, Institute of Geophysical Planetary Physics Department, Riverside, CA 92521, USA, Tel: +1-909-787-3436, Fax: +1-909-787-4324, E-mail: zank@ucrac1.ucr.edu; Committee Members (SM): Robert Strangeway, UCLA IGPP, 2712 Geology Bldg., 405 Hilgard Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90095 USA; Tel: +1-310-206-6247, Fax: +1-310-206-3051, E-mail: strange@igpp.ucla.edu (SA): Stanley C. Solomon, National Center for Atmospheric Research, High Altitude Observatory, 3450 Mitchell Lane, Boulder, CO 80301, USA; Tel: +1-303-497-2179, Fax: +1-303-497-1589, E-mail: stans@ucar.edu

    Tectonophysics: Adrian Lenardic, Rice University, Department of Geology and Geophysics, MS-126, Houston, TX 77251-1892, USA; Tel: +1-713-348-4883, Fax: +1-713-348-5214, E-mail: adrian@esci.rice.edu; and Yuri Fialko, University of California, San Diego, IGPP 225, La Jolla, CA 92093, USA; Tel: +1-858-822-5028, Fax: +1-858-534-5332, E-mail: fialko@radar.ucsd.edu

    Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology: Marc M. Hirschmann, University of Minnesota, Department of Geology, 108 Pillsbury Drive, Minneapolis, MN 55455, USA; Tel: +1-612-625-6698, Fax: +1-612-625-3819, E-mail: marc.m.hirschmann-1@umn.edu; and Thomas W. Sisson, Volcano Hazards Team, MS-910, U.S. Geological Survey, 345 Middlefield Rd., Menlo Park, CA 94025, USA; Tel: +1-650-329-5247, Fax: +1-650-329-5203, E-mail: tsisson@usgs.gov

    Atmospheric and Space Electricity: Dennis J. Boccippio, NASA MSFC, 804 Wells Ave., Huntsville, AL 35801, USA; Tel: +1-256-539-8406, E-mail: Dennis.Boccippio@nasa.gov

    Cryosphere: Mark W. Williams, INSTAAR, University of Colorado, 1560 30th Street, Boulder, CO 80303, USA; Tel: +1-303-492-8830, Fax: +1-303-492-6388, E-mail: markw@culter.colorado.edu

    Education: Stephanie Stockman, NASA/GSFC, Code 921, Greenbelt, MD 20771, USA; Tel: +1-301-614-6457, Fax: +1-301-614-6522, E-mail: stockman@core2.gsfc.nasa.gov

    Global Environmental Change: Henry N. Pollack, Department of Geological Sciences, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1063, USA; Tel: +1-734-763-0084, Fax: +1-734-763-4690, E-mail: hpollack@umich.edu

    Mineral and Rock Physics: Jie 'Jackie' Li, Department of Geology, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 1301 West Green Street, 245 Natural History Building, Urbana, IL 61801, USA; Tel: +217-333-7008, Fax: +1-217-244-4996, E-mail: jackieli@uiuc.edu

    NOnlinear Geophysics: Sarah F. Tebbens, University of South Florida, College of Marine Science, 140 Seventh Ave., S., St. Petersburg, FL 33701, USA; Tel: +1-727-553-1538, Fax: +1-727-553-3966, E-mail: tebbens@marine.usf.edu

    Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology: Bette L. Otto-Bliesner, Climate Change Research, National Center for Atmospheric Research, 1850 Table Mesa Drive/P.O. Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307, USA; Tel: +1-303-497-1723, Fax: +1-303-497-1348, E-mail: ottobli@ncar.ucar.edu

    Public Affairs: Jack D. Fellows, P.O. Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307-3000, USA; Tel: +1-303-497-8655, Fax: +1-303-497-8638, E-mail: jfellows@ucar.edu

    Study of the Earth's Deep Interior: Quentin C. Williams, University of California, Santa Cruz, 1156 High Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95064, USA; Tel: +1-831-459-3132, Fax: +1-831-459-3074, E-mail: qwilliams@es.ucsc.edu

    History of Geophysics: Ronald E. Doel, Department of Geosciences, 104 Wilkinson Hall, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR 97331, USA, E-mail: doelr@geo.orst.edu

     
     

    AGU Home