Home

Scientific Program

Special Activities & Events

Exhibits

Education, Outreach, & Careers

News Media





Scientific Program

Program



Presenting Authors & Session Chairs

Oral Sessions

There are three 2-hour blocks of oral sessions each day, and a daily 1-hour Plenary Session.

                 0800h - 1000h
                 1020h - 1220h
                 1340h - 1540h
                 1600h - 1800h

Oral Session locations:

Moscone West - Level 2 and 3

Poster Sessions

Poster sessions are active for one half day, although authors must put up their displays in the morning between 0730h and 0800h and remove them between 1800h and 1830h. Posters not removed by 1830h each day will be recycled.

Morning: 0800h - 1220h
Afternoon: 1340h - 1800h

Poster Sessions Locations:

Moscone South, Hall D. The last four digits of each poster presentation indicate the board number.

Union Lectures

Monday, 15 December

*U15A Frontiers of Geophysics Lecture
MW, Room 3008, 1830h
The Spread of Scientific Knowledge from the Royal Society to Google Earth and Beyond
Michael Jones, Chief Technical Officer, Google Earth

Six main themes have been identified for the Fall 2008 Meeting. Union sessions have been grouped to allow meeting attendees to more easily identify topically-connected Union sessions. Each Union session has been assigned to one of this year's themes.

Section and Focus Group Lectures

Bowie* and Named Lectures
The Bowie Lecture Series was inaugurated in 1989 to commemorate the 50th presentation of the William Bowie Medal, which is AGU's highest honor and is named for AGU's first president. Bowie Lectures are distinguished below with an asterisk.

Monday, 15 December

P13F Shoemaker Lecture*
MW, Room 2014, 1440h
The Phoenix Mission Explores the Martian Arctic
Presented by Peter H. Smith, University of Arizona


Tuesday, 16 December

V21E Bowen Lecture
MW, Room 3008, 0915h
On the Causes of Continental Intraplate Volcanism: An Example From the High Lava Plains of Eastern Oregon
Presented by Richard W. Carlson, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism


H22A Langbein Lecture*
MW, Room 3008, 1020h
Geomorphology: the Shock of the Familiar
Presented by William E. Dietrich, Department of Earth and Planetary Science, University of California, Berkeley


PP23E Emiliani Lecture
MW, Room 3008, 1440h
Lessons from the Pliocene Warm Period and the Onset of Northern Hemisphere Glaciation
Presented by Ana Christina Ravelo, University of California, Santa Cruz, Ocean Sciences Department


AE23B Franklin Lecture
MW, Room 2014, 1450h
Recent Lightning Experiments at the International Center for Lightning Research and Testing: From Ball Lightning to Gamma Rays
Presented by Martin A. Uman, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Florida


G24A Bowie Lecture*
MW, Room 2014, 1600h
Glaciological studies of the evolution of ice sheets in a warming climate
Presented by Eric Rignot, University of California Irvine


2008 Aki Award Presentation
MW, Room 3008, 1700h
Recipient: David Shelly, U.S. Geological Survey


S24B Gutenberg Lecture*
MW, Room 3008, 1700h
Seismic ambient noise imaging and monitoring: a new tool for the investigation of the continuously deforming Earth
Presented by Michel Campillo, LGIT, Université Joseph Fourier and CNRS


C24A Nye Lecture
MW, Room 2014, 1700h
Polar Science in a Time of Rapid Change
Presented by Mary R. Albert, CRREL, Thayer School of Engineering


Wednesday, 17 December

SA33D;SH33A;SM33B Van Allen Lecture
MW, Room 2014, 1340h
Understanding the Magnetosphere: The Counter-intuitive Simplicity of Cosmic Electrodynamics
Presented by Vytenis Vasyliunas, Max-Planck-Institute


A33D Bjerknes Lecture*
MW, Room 3008, 1340h
Threat to the Planet: Dark and Bright Sides of Global Warming
Presented by James E. Hansen, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies, The Earth Institute at Columbia University


T34B Birch Lecture*
MW, Room 3008, 1700h
Focusing in on Mid-Ocean Ridge Segmentation
Presented by Suzanne M. Carbotte, Columbia University


GP34B Bullard Lecture*
MW, Room 2014, 1700h
Excursions and Paleointensity: integration of magnetic and oxygen isotope stratigraphies
Presented by James E.T. Channell, University of Florida, Department of Geological Sciences


Thursday, 18 December

NG42A Lorenz Lecture
MW, Room 2014, 1020h
Predictability and Uncertainties in Geophysics: from the Butterfly Effect to Ensemble Predictions, Multifractal Predictability and the Anthropocene
Presented by Daniel J.M. Schertzer, Universite Paris-Est Ecole des Ponts ParisTech CEREVE


Transport in an idealized three-gyre system with application to the surface flow in the Adriatic Sea.
Irina I Rypina, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Physical Oceanography Department


B43E Sagan Lecture
MW, Room 3008, 1340h
The story of O: The evolution of Earth's oxygen cycle and its relevance to life outside of our solar system
Presented by Paul Falkowski, Dept. of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences, Rutgers University


OS42A Sverdrup Lecture
MW, Room 3008, 1020h
Chlorofluorocarbons: The Oceans' Inadvertent Canary
Presented by Rana A. Fine, Rosenstiel School, University of Miami


P44B Whipple Lecture
MW, Room 3008, 1600h
Terrestrial Planet Geophysics
Presented by Roger Phillips, Southwest Research Institute



Program Committee

Chair and Union (U)

Catherine Johnson
University of British Columbia
Phone: +1-604-827-3480
E-mail: cjohnson@eos.ubc.ca

Atmospheric Sciences (A)

Eric Jensen
Ames Research Center
Phone: +1-303- 492-3290
E-mail: eric.j.jensen@nasa.gov

Russell Dickerson
University of Maryland
Phone: +1-301-405-5364
E-mail: russ@atmos.umd.edu

Will Vizuete
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Phone: +1-919-966-0693
E-mail: airquality@unc.edu

Atmospheric and Space Electricity (AE)

Victor P. Pasko
Pennsylvania State University
Phone: +1-814-865-3467
E-mail: vpasko@psu.edu

Biogeosciences (B)

Alistair M. Smith
University of Idaho
Phone: +1-208-885-1009
E-mail: Alistair@uidaho.edu

Lara Kueppers
University of California Merced
Phone: +1-209-228-4054
E-mail: lkueppers@ucmerced.edu

Anne Hartley
Florida Gulf Coast University
Phone: +1-239-590-7654
E-mail: ahartley@fgcu.edu

Cryosphere (C)

Danny Marks
USDA Agricultural Research Center
Phone: +1-208-422-0721
Cell: +1-208-863-3378
E-mail: ars.danny@gmail.com

Earth and Space Science Informatics (IN)

Glenn Prescott
University of Kansas
Phone: +1-785-564-8804
Email: Prescott@ku.edu

Peter Fox
High Altitude Observatory
Email: pfox@ucar.edu

Robin Pfister
NASA/GSFC
E-mail: robin.g.pfister@nasa.gov

Education and Human Resources (ED)

Susan Buhr
CIRES, University of Colorado
Phone: +1-303 492 5657
E-mail: susan.buhr@colorado.edu

Geodesy (G)

Pascal Willis
Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris
Phone: +33-(0)1-57-27-84-81
E-mail: willis@ipgp.jussieu.fr

Matt King
Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne
Phone: +44-191-222-7833
E-mail: m.a.king@ncl.ac.uk

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism (GP)

Kenneth Kodama
Lehigh University
Phone: +1-610-758-3663
E-mail: kpk0@lehigh.edu

Global Environmental Change (GEC)

Steven Lloyd
NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr
Phone: +1+301-614-5229
E-mail: steven.a.lloyd@nasa.gov

Hydrology (H)

Tim Ginn
University of California, Davis
Phone: +1-530-752-1707
E-mail: trginn@ucdavis.edu

Tissa Illangasekare
Colorado School of Mines
Phone: +1-303-384-2126
E-mail: tissa@mines.edu

Tom Meixner
University of Arizona
Phone: +1+520-626-1532
E-mail: tmeixner@hwr.arizona.edu

Mineral and Rock Physics (MRP)

Heather Watson
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Phone: +1-925-423-0578
E-mail: watson40@llnl.gov

Near Surface Geophysics (NS)

Sarah Kruse
University of South Florida
Phone: +1-813-974-7341
E-Mail: skruse@cas.usf.edu

Mitchell Craig
California State University, East Bay
Phone: +1-510-885-3425
E-Mail: mitchell.craig@csueastbay.edu

Nonlinear Geophysics (NG)

Jay Johnson
Princeton University
Phone: +1-609-243-2603
E-Mail: jrj@pppl.gov

Ocean Sciences (OS)

Elizabeth Canuel
Virginia Inst Marine Sciences
Phone: +1-804-684-7134
E-mail: ecanuel@vims.edu

Donna Witter
Kent State University
Phone: +1-330-672-7002
E-mail: dwitter@kent.edu

Karen Bice
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
Phone: +1-508+289+3320
E-mail: kbice@whoi.edu

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology (PP)

Peter Swart
University of Miami
Phone: +1-305-421-4103
E-mail: pswart@rsmas.miami.edu

Figen Mekik
Grand Valley State University
Phone: +1-616-331-3020
E-mail: mekikf@gvsu.edu

Planetary Sciences (P)

Bruce Banerdt
NASA, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
E-mail: bruce.banerdt@jpl.nasa.gov

Jürgen Oberst
Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center
Phone: +11-49-30-67055-336
E-mail: juergen.oberst@dlr.de

Public Affairs (PA)

Margaret R. Collins
National Academy of Sciences
Phone: +1-508-548-2505
E-mail: mcollins@nas.edu

Seismology (S)

Suzan van der Lee
Northwestern University
Phone: +1-847-491-8183
E-mail: suzan@earth.northwestern.edu

John Vidale
University of Washington
Phone: +1-206-543-6790
E-mail: seismoguy@mac.com

Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA)

Larisa Goncharenko
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Phone: +1-781-981-5622
E-mail: lpg@haystack.mit.edu

SPA-Solar Physics Division-AAS (SH)

Joe Giacalone
University of Arizona
Phone: +1-520-626-8365
E-mail: giacalon@lpl.arizona.edu

SPA-Magnetospheric Physics (SM)

Lynn Kistler
University of New Hampshire
Phone: +1-603-862-1399
E-mail: lynn.kistler@unh.edu

Study of Earth's Deep Interior (DI)

Allen McNamara
University of Arizona
Phone: +1-480-965-1733
Email: allen.mcnamara@asu.edu

Mark Panning
Princeton University
Phone: +1-609-258-5031
E-mail: mpanning@princeton.edu

Tectonophysics (T)

Marin Kristen Clark
University of Michigan
Phone: +1-734-615-0484
E-mail: marinkc@umich.edu

Mark Behn
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
Phone: +1-508-289-3637
E-mail: mbehn@whoi.edu

Eric A. Hetland
California Institute of Technology
Phone: +1-626-395-6950
Email: eah@gps.caltech.edu

Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology (V)

Paul Wallace
University of Oregon
Phone: +1-541-346-5985
E-mail: pwallace@uoregon.edu

Janne Blichert-Toft
Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon
Phone: +1-33-4-72728488
E-mail: jblicher@ens-lyon.fr

Julie O'Leary
Carnegie Institution of Washington
Phone: +1-626-221-5964
E-mail: oleary@dtm.ciw.edu

AGU Staff

General Inquiries: fm-help@agu.org
Joanna Ward, Meetings Manager; E-mail: JWard@agu.org
Melissa Markowitz, Meetings Coordinator; E-mail: MMarkowitz@agu.org

AGU, 2000 Florida Avenue, NW; Washington, DC 20009, USA; Phone: +1-202-462-6900; Fax: +1-202-328-0566; www.agu.org

Go to Top of Page
Print -
Page last modified on September 08, 2008, at 01:46 PM