AGU  1999 Fall Meeting

December 13–17, 1999 (Mon-Fri)
San Francisco, California

Sponsored by:
American Geophysical Union


      Webcasts of Featured Lectures



General Information

Sponsors

American Geophysical Union (AGU) is a society of over 35,000 members in 130 countries with purposes of advancing progress in the Earth, atmospheric, oceanic, hydrologic, and space and planetary sciences. AGU is dedicated to fostering high-quality scientific research, disseminating the results of that research, enhancing educational opportunities in science, and encouraging international cooperation in geophysics.

Fall Meeting Location and Dates

The Fall Meeting was held in the Moscone Center, San Francisco's premier meeting and exhibition facility. The meeting offered 5 days of scientific programming, beginning Monday, December 13, and continuing through Friday, December 17.

Program

The Fall Meeting provided an opportunity for researchers, teachers, students, and consultants to review the latest issues affecting the Earth, the planets, and their environment in space.

This meeting covered topics on all areas of geophysical sciences, and therefore contributed papers on any topic in geophysics were encouraged. Special steps were taken to facilitate sessions involving multiple sections, since there are close ties between many aspects of geophysics. These include the scheduling of Union sessions and of sessions jointly sponsored by multiple sessions.

Program Committee

Meeting Chairman (U), Robert A. Duce, Department of Oceanography, Room 906, O&M Building, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843 USA; Tel: +1-409-845-5756, Fax: +1-409-862-8978, E-mail: rduce@ocean.tamu.edu

Atmospheric Sciences (A), Jack A. Kaye, NASA Headquarters, Mail Code YS, Washington, DC 20546 USA; Tel: +1-202-358-0757, Fax: 202-358-2770, E-mail: Jack.Kaye@hq.nasa.gov; Committee Member: Kenneth P. Bowman, Department of Meteorology, Room 1204, O&M Building, Texas A&M University,College Station, TX 77843-3150 USA; Tel: +1-409-862-4060, Fax: +1-409-862-4466, E-mail: k-bowman@tamu.edu

Geodesy (G), Nancy King, U. S. Geological Survey, 525 South Wilson Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91106 USA; Tel: +1-626-583-7815, Fax: +1-626-583-7827, E-mail: nking@gps.caltech.edu

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism (GP), Cathy Constable, Institute of Geophysics & Planetary Physics, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA 92093-0225 USA; Tel: +1-619-534-3183, Fax: +1-619-534-8090, E-mail: cconstable@ucsd.edu

Hydrology (H), Roy W. Koch, Department of Civil Engineering, Portland State University, P.O. Box 751, Portland, OR 97207-0751 USA; Tel: +1-503-725-4204, Fax: +1-503-725-5950, E-mail: kochr@pdx.edu

Ocean Sciences (OS), Newell (Toby) Garfield, Romberg Tiburon Center, San Francisco State University, P.O. Box 855, Tiburon, CA 94920 USA; Tel: +1-415-338-3713, Fax: +1-415-435-7120, E-mail: garfield@sfsu.edu

Planetary Sciences (P), Laurie A. Leshin, Department of Geology, Arizona State University, P.O. Box 871404, Tempe, AZ 85287-1404 USA; Tel: +1-480-965-0796, Fax: +1-480-965-8102, E-mail: Laurie.Leshin@asu.edu

Seismology (S): Heidi Houston, Department of Earth and Space Sciences, University of California, Los Angeles, 405 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90095 USA; Tel: +1-310-206-3896, Fax: +1-310-825-2779, E-mail: hhouston@ess.ucla.edu; Committee Member: Peter Shearer, Institute of Geophysics & Planetary Physics, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA 92093-0225 USA; Tel: +1-619-534-2260, Fax: +1-619-534-5332, E-mail: pshearer@ucsd.edu

Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA), Chair, Thomas Cravens (SA), Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS 66045 USA; Tel: +1-785-864-4739, Fax: +1-785-864-5262, E-mail: cravens@kuplas.phsx.ukans.edu; Committee Members: William C. Feldman (SH), Los Alamos National Laboratory, MS D-466, Los Alamos, NM 87545 USA; Tel: +1-505-667-7372, Fax: +1-505-665-7395, E-mail: wfeldman@lanl.gov; Terrance G. Onsager (SM), NOAA Space Environment Center, 325 Broadway R/E/SE, Boulder, CO 80303 USA; Tel: +1-303-497-5713, Fax: +1-303-497-3645, E-mail: tonsager@sec.noaa.gov

Tectonophysics (T), Roland Burgmann, Department of Geology and Geophysics, 301 McCone Hall, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-4767 USA; Tel: +1-510-643-9545, Fax: +1-510-643-9980, E-mail: burgmann@seismo.berkeley.edu; Committee Member: Julia Morgan, Department of Geology & Geophysics, University of Hawaii, 2525 Correa Road, Honolulu, HI 96822 USA; Tel: +1-808-956-6055, Fax: +1-808-956-5154, E-mail: morgan@soest.hawaii.edu

Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology (V), Mary R. Reid, Department of Earth and Space Sciences, University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1567 USA; Tel: +1-310-825-1756, Fax: +1-310-825-2779, E-mail: reid@ess.ucla.edu

Mineral & Rock Physics: The sections of S, T, and V are including a member of the Mineral and Rock Physics Technical Committee to assist in planning some sessions. Quentin Williams is a committee member for the sections of S, T, and V, and will be organizing sessions related specifically to rock and mineral physics. Quentin Williams, University of California, Santa Cruz, Earth Science Department, Santa Cruz, CA 95064 USA; Tel: +1-831-459-3132 or 2596, Fax: +1-831-459-3074, E-mail: quentw@es.ucsc.edu

Biogeosciences (B), Dork Sahagian, University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH 03824 USA; Tel: +1-603-862-3875, Fax: +1-603-862-3874, E-mail: gaim@unh.edu

Education and Public Policy (EP), Randy Richardson, University of Arizona, 501 Administration, Tucson, AZ 85721-0066 USA; Tel: +1-520-621-8257, Fax: +1-520-621-5707, E-mail: rmr@u.arizona.edu; Committee Member: Peter Folger, American Geophysical Union, 2000 Florida Ave., N.W., Washington, DC 20009 USA; Tel: +1-202-777-7509, Fax: +1-202-328-0566, E-mail: PFolger@agu.org

Something for Students

We encouraged students to participate in this meeting by submitting an abstract and attending presentations. In addition, the following benefits were available to students.

Something for Everyone

In addition to providing an exciting scientific program and excellent networking opportunities, the 1999 Fall Meeting offered these benefits:


Contact Information

 
For additional information contact: AGU Meetings Department
2000 Fall Meeting
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: 1-202-462-6900 (in Washington, D.C. area and outside North America)
1-800-966-2481 (toll-free in North America) 
Fax: 1-202-328-0566 
 
For exhibit information contact: Advertising and Exhibits Sales
American Geophysical Union
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: 1-202-777-7536
Fax:  1-202-777-7399
E-mail: exhibits@agu.org 

AGU Meetings

AGU