Contact Us  
Program & Abstracts
AGU > '08 Joint Assembly > Program & Abstracts  
   Home  |  Program & Abstracts  |  Housing & Travel  |  Registration  |  Education, Outreach & Careers   

   Special Activities & Events  |  Meeting Services  |  News Media  |  Exhibits   

 

Meeting Calendar
 11 Mar  Abstract Deadline
19:59 UT
 28 Apr  Housing Reservation Deadline
 21 May  Registration Deadline

Scientific Program

Presenting Authors & Session Chairs

Presenting Authors and Session Chairs: please review the information page containing details regarding your oral or poster session.

Oral Sessions

There are three 2-hour blocks of oral sessions each day, and a daily 1-hour Plenary Session.

Oral Sessions location: Convention Center, Levels, 1, 2, and 3

Poster Sessions

Poster sessions are scheduled 0830h-1200h in the morning and 1330h-1800h in the afternoon. Poster sessions are active for one half day. Authors are asked to put up displays on Tuesday, 27 May at 1330h and leave them up for the remaining days of the week for maximum viewing opportunity. You must be present at your poster for at least one hour during the allocated session time.

Poster Sessions location: Convention Center, Exhibit Hall A, Level 1.

Plenary Sessions

The following daily plenary sessions will be held 1100h – 1200h in the Convention Center’s Palm Room on Level 2.

Tuesday, 27 May

U22A Hale Prize Lecture
How Solar Flares Work
Presented by Hugh S. Hudson, University of California, Berkeley

Wednesday, 28 May

U32A Honey Bees, Satellites and Climate Change
Presented by Wayne Esaias, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Thursday, 29 May

U42A Global Earth Observations: Applications in the Americas

Friday, 30 May

U52A New Insights in Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism

AGU Fellows Sessions

Wednesday, 28 May

GP33A Fellows and Gilbert Awardee Perspectives on Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism I
CC, Level 1, Room 113, 1330h

B34A The Fellows Speak: Perspectives on the Science From the New Biogeosciences Section AGU Fellows
CC, Level 3, Room 316, 1600h

Thursday, 29 May

GP43A Fellows and Gilbert Awardee Perspectives on Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism II
CC, Level 1, Room 113, 1330h

A44A Atmospheric Sciences Fellows Lectures
CC, Level 3, Room 305, 1600h

H44A The Fellows Speak: Perspectives on the Science From the New Hydrology Section AGU Fellows
CC, Level 2, Room 222, 1600h

OS44A Research Highlights in the Ocean Sciences by 2008 AGU Fellows
CC, Level 2, Room 221, 1600h

Meeting Lectures

Wednesday, 28 May

Rachel Carson Lecture
OS33A Algal Toxins in the Deep Blue Sea: an Environmental Concern?
CC, Level 1, Room 114, 1330h
Presented by Mary Wilcox Silver, University of California, Santa Cruz

Parker Lecture
SA34A, SH34A, SM34A A Guided Tour of Heliospheric Waves, Shocks and Energetic Particles
CC, Level 2, Palm Room, 1600h
Presented by Martin A. Lee, University of New Hampshire

Thursday, 29 May

Harvey Prize Lecture
SP42A Magnetic Reconnection and Flare Loop Formation in Solar Eruptions
CC, Level 3, Room 316, 1100h
Presented by Mark G. Linton, Naval Research Laboratory

Charney Lecture
A43A Another Inconvenient Truth—Even a Small Nuclear War Could Be Much Worse Than You Think
CC, Level 3, Room 305, 1330h
Presented by Owen Brian Toon, University of Colorado

Daly Lecture
V44B New Constraints on the Protracted Accretion History of the Earth and Moon
CC, Level 1, Room 114, 1630h
Presented by Alex N. Halliday, Oxford University

Town Hall Meeting

Wednesday, 28 May

U.S. Climate Change Science Program (CCSP) Town Hall Meeting
CC, Level 2, Palm Room, 1200h – 1230h


Abstract Submissions

Abstract submissions are now closed

Abstract Data


Program Committee

Chairs and Union (U)

John Bates, NCDC NOAA/NESDIS, 151 Patton Avenue, Asheville , NC, 28801-500, USA, Phone: +1 828 271 4378 , Email: john.j.bates@noaa.gov

Atmospheric Sciences (A)

William Sprigg, University of Arizona, P.O. Box 65325, Tucson, AZ, 85728, USA, Phone: +1-520-626-8941, Email: wsprigg@u.arizona.edu

Biogeosciences (B)

Amy Austin, IFEVA-CONICET, University of Buenos Aries, Buenos Aires, C1417DSE, ARGENTINA, Email: austin@ifeva.edu.ar

Cryosphere (C)

Danny Marks, USDA Agricultural Research Center, Boise, ID, 83712-7716, USA, Phone: +1-208-422-0721, Email: danny@nwrc.ars.usda.gov

Earth and Space Science Informatics (IN)

Thomas Yoksas, UCAR, Unidata, 1850 Table Mesa Dr., Boulder, CO, 80307, Phone: +1-303- 497-8642, Email: yoksas@unidata.ucar.edu

Education and Human Resources (ED)

Susan Buhr, CIRES, University of Colorado, Campus Box 449, Boulder, CO, 80309, USA, Phone: +1-303-492-5657, Email: susan.buhr@colorado.edu

Geochemical Society (GS)

Andreas Luttge, Department of Earth Science, Rice University, MS-126, Houston, TX, 77251, USA, Phone: +1-713-348-6304, Email: aluttge@rice.edu

Geodesy (G)

Bill Hammond, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology, University of Nevada, Reno, Reno, USA, 89557-0178, USA, Phone: +1-775-784-6691, Email: whammond@unr.edu

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism (GP)

Avto Gogichaishvili, Instituto de Geofisica Mexico, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, D.F. 04510, Mexico, Phone: 052-55-56224113, Fax: 052-55-55509395, Email: avto@geofisica.unam.mx

Global Environmental Change (GEC)

Steven Lloyd, Code 610.2, GES DISC, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, 20771, USA, Phone: +1-301-614-5529, Email: steven.a.lloyd@nasa.gov

Hydrology (H)

Tom Bullen, U.S. Geological Survey, 345 Middlefield Road, MS 420, Menlo Park, CA, 94025, USA, Phone: +1-650-329-4577, Fax: +1-650-329-4538, Email: tdbullen@usgs.gov

Mineralogical Society of America (MSA)

William Minarik, Department Earth and Planetary Sciences, McGill University, 3450 University Street, Montreal, H3A 2A7, CANADA, Phone: +1-514-398-2596, mailto:minarik@eps.mcgill.ca

Near Surface Geophysics (NS)

Lee Slater, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Rutgers University, Smith 142, 101 Warren Street, Newark, NJ, 07102, USA, Phone: +1-973-353-5109, Email: lslater@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Nonlinear Geophysics (NS)

Lee Krishnamurthy, Center for Ocean, Land and Atmospheric Studies, George Mason University, Powder Mill Road, Ste. 302, Beltsville, MD, 20705-3106, USA, Phone: +1-301-902-1260, Email: krishna@cola.iges.org

Ocean Sciences (OS)

Raleigh Hood, UMCES/HPL, Univ of Maryland, 2020 Horns Point Rd POB 775, Cambridge, MD, 21613-0000, USA, Phone: +1-410-221-8434, Fax: +1-410-221-8490, Email: rhood@hpl.umces.edu

John W. Farrington, Marine Chemisty and Geochemistry, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, 360 Woods Hole Road, MS 25, Woods Hole, MA, USA, Phone: +1 508-289-3911, Email: jfarrington@whoi.edu

Planetary Sciences (P)

Rossman Irwin, Center for Earth and Planetary Studies, Smithsonian Institute, 6th Street and Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC, 20013-7102, Phone: +1-202-633-2476, Email: irwinr@si.edu

Public Affairs (PA)

Margaret R. Goud Collins, US Committe for IIASA, PGA/BISO, National Academy of Sciences, 500 Fifth St. NW W1010, Washington, DC, 20001, Phone: +1-508-548-2502, Email: mcollins@nas.edu

Seismology (S)

Marcelo Souza de Assumpcao, Departmento de Geofisica, Universidade de Sao Paolo, San Paulo, 05508-090, BRAZIL, Phone: +55-11-3091-4755, Email: marcelo@iag.usp.br

Solar Physics Division-AAS (SP)

Jim Klimchuk, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Code 671, Bldg. 21, Rm. 158, Greenbelt, MD, 20771-0001, USA, Phone: +1-301-286-9060, Email: James.A.Klimchuk@nasa.gov

Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA)

Art Richmond, NCAR High Altitude Observatory, PO Box 3000, Boulder, CO, 80307-3000, USA, Phone: +1-303-497-1570, Fax: +1-303-497-1589, Email: richmond@ucar.edu

Joseph Mazur, The Aerospace Corporation, CH3/210, 15049 Conference Center Drive, Chantilly, VA, 20151, USA, Phone: +1-703-324-8915, Fax: +1-703-324-0135, Email: joseph.mazur@aero.org

Craig Kletzing, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa, Room 203, Van Allen Hall, Iowa City, IA, 52242, USA, Phone: +1-319-335-1904, Fax: +1-319-335-1753, Email: craig-kletzing@uiowa.edu

Tectonophysics (T)

Lucy Flesch, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Science, Purdue University, 550 Stadium Mall Drive, West Lafayette, IN, 47907-2051, USA, Phone: +1-765-494-0263, Email: lmflesch@purdue.edu

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology (V)

Munir Humayun, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Geological Sciences Department, Florida State University, 1800 E. Paul Dirac Drive, Tallahassee, FL, 32310, USA, Phone: +1-850-644-1908, Email: humayun@magnet.fsu.edu

Gerardo Carrasco, Centor de Geosiencias, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Campus Juriquilla, Carr. 15.5, Queretaro, 76230, MEXICO, Phone: +011-442-238-1104, Email: gerardoc@dragon.geociencias.unam.mx

AGU Staff

AGU, 2000 Florida Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, 20009, USA, Phone: +1-202-462-6900, Fax: +1-202-328-0566, Email: ja-help@agu.org