2008 Western Pacific Geophysics Meeting
Cairns, Australia, 29 July - 1 August 2008
  Home | Program and Abstracts | Registration | Housing & Travel  
  Special Activities & Events | Education, Outreach & Careers | Meeting Services  
  Program and Abstracts  
 
Quick Links
Low/Lower Income Countries
Meeting-at-a-Glance
 

Scientific Program

Presenting Authors & Session Chairs

Presenting Authors and Session Chairs: please review the information page containing details regarding your oral or poster session. Additional information will be posted as details become available.

Oral Sessions

There are three 2-hour blocks of oral sessions and a daily 1-hour Plenary Session on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.

  • Morning: 0830h–1030h, 1100h–1200h
  • Afternoon: 1330h–1530h, 1600h–1800h

On Friday, oral session times are as follows:

  • Morning: 0830h–1030h, 1100h–1300h

Oral Sessions location: Mezzanine Level, Cairns Convention Centre

Poster Sessions

Poster sessions are scheduled 1800h–1930h on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings. Poster sessions are active for a 1.5 hour period. Authors are asked to put up displays on Tuesday morning, 29 July and leave the posters on display until Thursday evening, 31 July at 1800h, for maximum viewing opportunity. You must be present at your poster for at least one hour during the allocated session time.

Poster Sessions location: Hall B, Exhibition Level, Cairns Convention Centre

Plenary Sessions

The following daily plenary sessions will be held 1100h – 1200h in the Convention Centre's Hall A, Mezzanine Level.

Tuesday, 29 July

U22A Space Weather Effects in the Upper Atmosphere
Presented by G. W. Proelss, Universitaet Bonn

U22B Ice-Sheet Mass Balance Observed by GRACE Twin-Satellite Mission Data
Presented by C. K. Shum, Ohio State University

Wednesday, 30 July

U32A BLUElink: Ocean Forecasting Australia
Presented by A. Schiller, CSIRO

U32B The Oceans and Climate Change
Presented by M. H. England, The University of New South Wales

Thursday, 31 July

U42A Four Years After the Sumatra-Andaman Earthquake: Are There Things We Haven't Learned?
Presented by P. R. Cummins, Australian National University

Abstract Data

Program Committee

Chair and Union (U)
Louis Moresi
Monash University
Phone: +61 3 9905 4468
E-mail: louis.moresi@sci.monash.edu.au

Atmospheric Sciences (A)
Matthew Wheeler
Centre for Australian Weather and Climate Research
Phone: +61-3-9669-4068
E-mail: m.wheeler@bom.gov.au

Biogeosciences (B)
John Moreau
USGS (current)
University of Melbourne (as of August 2008)
Phone: +1-608-821-3893
E-mail: jmoreau@unimelb.edu.au

Geodesy (G)
Cheinway Hwang
National Chiao Tung University
Phone: +88 63 572 4739
E-Mail: cheinway@mail.nctu.edu.tw
Paul Tregoning
The Australian National University
Phone: +61 2 6125 5510
E-Mail: paul.tregoning@anu.edu.au

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism (GP)
Philip W. Schmidt
CSIRO
Phone: +61 29490 8873
E-Mail: phil.schmidt@csiro.au

Hydrology (H)
Stewart Franks
The University of Newcastle
Phone: +61 2 4921 6053
E-Mail: Stewart.Franks@newcastle.edu.au
Tomo'omi Kumagai
Kyushu University
Phone: +81 983 38 1005
E-Mail: kuma@forest.kyushu-u.ac.jp

Ocean Sciences (OS)
Sadwin K. Behera
Frontier Research Center for Global Change, JAMESTEC
E-Mail: behera@jamestec.go.jp
Anne Mueller
E-Mail: anne.muller@gmx.de

Planetary Sciences (P)
TBD

Seismology (S)
Kou-Fong Ma
National Central University
Phone: +866 3 4227151, ext. 65634
E-mail: mailto:fong@earth.ncu.edu.tw

Spaces Physics and Aeronomy (SPA)
Colin Waters
The University of Newcastle
Phone: +61 2 4921 5421
E-Mail: colin.waters@newcastle.edu.au

Tectonophysics (T)
Ling-Yun Chiao
National Taiwan University
Phone: +8862 23622875
E-Mail: chiao@ntu.edu.tw
Craig O'Neill
Macquarie University
Phone: +61 2 9850 9673
E-mail: coneill@els.mq.edu.au
Gideon Rosenbaum
University of Queensland
Phone: +61 7 3346 9798
E-mail: g.rosenbaum@uq.edu.au
Wouter Schellart
Australian National University
Phone: +61 0 6125 9959
E-mail: wouter.schellart@anu.edu.au

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology (VGP)
Marc Norman
Australian National University
Phone: +61 2 6125 4373
E-mail: marc.norman@ann.edu.au
Tracy Rushmer
Macquaire University
E-mail: trushmer@els.mq.edu.au
Simon Turner
Macquaire University
E-mail: sturner@els.mq.edu.au

AGU Staff
AGU
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20009 USA
Phone: +1-202-462-6900
Fax: +1-202-328-0566
Email: wp-help@agu.org