2020 Honors banner

2021 Union Awards & Prizes

AGU Union Awards and Prizes Overview

AGU’s Union Awards and Prizes recognize individuals for their contributions to scientific research, for transforming education in the Earth and space sciences, for outstanding achievements in science journalism, and for engaging a broader audience on scientific issues of critical importance. These awards and prizes engage members, shape policy, and inform society about developing solutions for the sustainability of the planet. Union awards and prize recipients further our appreciation of the power of science to improve our lives and our communities.

Union Awards & Prizes Program

Learn more about AGU's Union Awards and Prizes.

Learn more

Edward A. Flinn III Award

Charles S. Falkenberg Award

Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science

Science for Solutions Award

Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism Features

David Perlman Award for Research Excellence in Science Journalism News

Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize

Climate Communication Prize