2020 Honors banner

2021 Section Awardees & Named Lectures

AGU Section Honors Program Overview

AGU sections recognize the outstanding work of individuals in their scientific discipline every year by hosting nearly 30 named lecture presentations and presenting more than 40 awards and prizes. Awardees are chosen for their meritorious work or service toward the advancement and promotion of Earth and space sciences. These individuals, in various career stages, represent some of the most innovative minds in their disciplines.

Section Awards and Lectures

Learn more about AGU Section Awards and Lectures

Learn More

Atmospheric and Space Electricity Section

Biogeosciences Section

Sulzman Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring

Thomas Hilker Early Career Award for Excellence in Biogeosciences

William S. and Carelyn Y. Reeburgh Lecture

Cryosphere Sciences Section

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes Section

G. K. Gilbert Award in Surface Processes

Luna B. Leopold Early Career Award

Marguerite T. Williams Award

Robert Sharp Lecture

Earth and Space Science Informatics Section

Education Section

Dorothy LaLonde Stout Education Lecture

Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism, and Electromagnetism Section

Global Environmental Change Section

Bert Bolin Global Environmental Change Award and Lecture

Global Environmental Change Early Career Award

Global Environmental Change Section

Piers J. Sellers Global Environmental Change Mid-Career Award

Stephen Schneider Lecture

Tyndall History of Global Environmental Change Lecture

Mineral and Rock Physics Section

John C. Jamieson Student Paper Award

Mineral and Rock Physics Early Career Award

Mineral and Rock Physics Graduate Research Award

Natural Hazards Section

Gilbert F. White Distinguished Award and Lecture

Natural Hazards Early Career Award

Natural Hazards Section Award for Graduate Research

Near-Surface Geophysics Section

Near-Surface Geophysics Early Career Achievement Award

Nonlinear Geophysics Section

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology Section

Seismology Section

Beno Gutenberg Lecture

Keiiti Aki Early Career Award

Space Physics and Aeronomy Section

Basu U.S. Early Career Award for Research Excellence in Sun-Earth Systems Science

Eugene Parker Lecture

Fred L. Scarf Award

James Van Allen Lecture

Space Physics and Aeronomy Richard Carrington Education and Public Outreach Award

Sunanda and Santimay Basu International Early Career Award in Sun-Earth Systems Science

William B. Hanson Lecture

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Section

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Section Award for Graduate Research

Tectonophysics Section

Francis Birch Lecture

Jason Morgan Early Career Award

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology Section

Joint Award: Geodesy, Seismology, and Tectonophysics Sections

Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service

Joint Lecture: Biogeosciences and Planetary Sciences Sections

Joint Lecture: Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology and Ocean Sciences Sections