AGU22 Webimage 1314x150 1


History & Facts

AGU (American Geophysical Union) Fall Meeting is the most influential event in the world dedicated to the advancement of Earth and space sciences.

Every year, AGU Fall Meeting convenes >25,000 attendees from 100+ countries to share research and network. Researchers, scientists, educators, students, policymakers, enthusiasts, journalists and communicators attend AGU Fall Meeting to better understand our planet and environment, and our role in preserving its future. It is a results-oriented gathering rooted in celebrating and advancing positive individual and collective outcomes.

The first Fall Meeting was in April 1920 in San Francisco, California. It was also known as the Spring Meeting when AGU had two meetings each year. San Francisco served as the “home” of Fall Meeting until 2017 when AGU adopted the rotation strategy.

  • 2021 – AGU Fall Meeting was our first hybrid meeting held in New Orleans, LA and online everywhere with 24,000+ registered attendees.
  • 2020 – AGU Fall Meeting was a 100% virtual meeting with 25,400+ registered attendees.
  • 2019 – AGU Fall Meeting was held in San Francisco, CA with 27,934 registered attendees. It was also AGU’s Centennial anniversary and an opportunity to celebrate the 100 years of service to the scientific community.
  • 2018 – AGU Fall Meeting was held in Washington, D.C. with 28,289 registered attendees. This meeting also celebrated the grand opening of AGU’s net zero energy renovation headquarters.
  • 2017 – AGU Fall Meeting was held in New Orleans LA with 22,632 registered attendees.

Affiliated societies

Below is the list of current affiliated societies and organizations. If you would like for your society to be considered as an affiliate, please email the Meetings Team.

Fall Meeting Program Committee members (by section)

Guy Brasseur, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Fall Meeting  Program Committee Chair
Union program

Nicole Oliphant
Assistant Director, Scientific Programs, Meetings, AGU

Sonja Behnke
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Morris Cohen
Georgia Institute of Technology 

David Smith
University of California Santa Cruz


Shannon Capps
Drexel University

Jennifer Comstock
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Susan van den Heever
Colorado State University

Nana Liu
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Kathryn Moore
Colorado State University Fort Collins

Laura Pan
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Kristina Pistone
Bay Area Environmental Research Institute Moffett Field

Min Chen
University of Wisconsin

Forrest Hoffman
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Avni Malhotra
Stanford University

Laura Meredith
University of Arizona

Kiya Riverman
University of Oregon

McKenzie Skiles
University of Utah

Andrew Ashton
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Isamar Cortes
Montclair State University

Mackenzie Day
University of California Los Angeles

Kimberly Hill
University of Minnesota

Claire Masteller
Washington University in St Louis

Marisa Palucis
Dartmouth College

Noah Snyder
Boston College

Kyle Straub
Tulane University of Louisiana

Jeff de La Beaujardière
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Binita KC
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Jens Klump
CSIRO Mineral Resources

Manil Maskey
NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

Sudhir Shrestha
NOAA NWS Office of Water Prediction

Sanlyn Buxner
Planetary Science Institute  

Michelle Nichols
Adler Planetarium

Simon Schneider
Ludwig Macimilians University of Munich

Niloufar Abolfathian
University of Southern California

Sujata Goswami
California Institute of Technology


Sujata Goswami
University of Southern California

Mayra Oyola
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Susan Anenberg
George Washington University

Morgan Gorris
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Jennifer Stowell
Boston University School of Public Health

Daniel Tong
George Mason University Fairfax

David Cairns
Texas A&M University College Station

Ben Kravitz
Indiana University Bloomington

Erwan Monier
University of California Davis

Hang Deng
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Manuela Girotto
University of California Berkley

Bo Guo
University of Arizona


Viviana Maggioni
George Mason University

Binayak Mohanty
Texas A&M University College Station

Hamid Moradkhani
University of Alabama

Shirley Papuga
Wayne State University

Firat Testik
University of Texas at San Antonio

Christine McCarthy
Columbia University

Elizabeth Thompson
Sewanee The University of the South

Yekaterina Kontar
USGCRP (U.S. Global Change Research Program)

Robert Weiss
Virginia Tech

Greg Mount
Broward County Environmental Planning and Community Resilience Division

Sebastian Uhlemann
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Steven Fletcher
Colorado State University

Carol Arnosti
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Kendra Daly
University of South Florida Tampa

Steven D'Hondt
University of Rhode Island

Janet Sprintall
University of California San Diego

Tiffany Napier

MARUM Center for Marine Environmental Sciences

Ny Riavo Gilbertinie Voarintsoa
University of Houston

Yi Wang
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Frances Rivera-Hernandez
Georgia Institute of Technology

Alexander Thelen
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Jennifer Whitten
Tulane University

Kathie Dello
North Carolina State University Raleigh

Wenyuan Fan
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Qinya Liu
University of Toronto

Romina Nikoukar
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
SPA - Aeronomy

Amy Keesee
University of New Hampshire
SPA - Magnetospheric Physics

Christina Lee
Space Sciences Laboratory
SPA - Solar and Heliospheric Physics

Neala Creasy
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Miki Nakajima
University of Rochester

Peng Ni
Carnegie Institution for Science

Patrick Fulton
Cornell University

Jing Liu-Zeng
Tianjin University

Marcos Moreno
University of Concepcion

Benjamin Andrews
Smithsonian Institution

Olivier Bachmann
ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich) 

Julie Prytulak
Durham University