Robert E. Horton Medal
Congratulations to last year's UMAP Honorees!
View Honorees
Career Stage
Award Type
Union Medal
Of Note
Confers Union Fellowship;
Peer OR self-nomination permitted
Submission Window
17 January - 1 March
Established 1974

Recognizing Outstanding Contributions to Hydrology

The Robert E. Horton Medal is given annually to one honoree in recognition of outstanding contributions to hydrology. Recipients typically work in one of the following disciplines: biogeosciences, cryosphere, Earth and planetary surface processes, hydrology, nonlinear geophysics and near surface geophysics.

The Horton Medal was established in honor of Robert E. Horton, who made significant contributions to the study of the hydrologic cycle.

Honor Benefits
Recipients receive the following:

  • An engraved medal
  • Induction into the AGU College of Fellows (if the honoree has been an AGU member for three consecutive years and is not already a Fellow with exceptions allowed in cases of financial hardship as determined by AGU)
  • Recognition at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • Four hotel nights and two tickets to the Honors Banquet at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded

Criteria for a Successful Nomination

Nominees are evaluated on the following:

Their body of work over a sustained period of time (this medal is for lifetime achievement) and the publications that have resulted, as well as the insights gained (including contributions across the earth and space sciences).


How the nominee’s work has made a significant impact on their field overall, and/or to its growth, through influencing current and future research—articulate these contributions and their importance in a way that can be understood by peers and those outside their research field.


Who has benefited from the nominee's work, and their recognition and notable service to their field, aligning these with AGU’s mission and vision.


The nominee's international reputation in their field.


The nominee must be an experienced senior scientist who is an established leader in their field.
Nominators/co-nominators must be active AGU members.
All Parties
Must be in compliance with AGU's conflict of interest and professional conduct policies.
Read AGU's Ethics Policies