Inge Lehmann Medal
Congratulations to last year’s UMAP Honorees!
View Honorees
Career Stage
Award Type
Union Medal
Of Note
Confers Union Fellowship;
Peer OR self-nomination permitted
Submission Window
17 January - 1 March
Established 1997

Recognizing Outstanding Senior Scientist Contributions

The Inge Lehmann Medal is given annually to a senior scientist in recognition of outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure, composition, and dynamics of the Earth’s mantle and core. Recipients of this award typically conduct research in the following disciplines: geomagnetism, paleomagnetism and electromagnetism, mineral rock physics, seismology, study of the Earth’s deep interior, and tectonophysics.

The Lehmann Medal is named in honor of Inge Lehmann, who made many contributions to our understanding of the Earth’s deep interior, including her discovery of the Earth’s inner core in 1936. Lehmann served for 25 years as the first chief of the seismology department of the Royal Danish Geodetic Institute and was a former president of the European Seismological Federation, the Danish Geophysical Society, and vice president of the International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth’s Interior.

Honor Benefits
Recipients receive the following:

  • An engraved medal
  • Induction into the AGU College of Fellows (if the honoree has been an AGU member for three consecutive years and is not already a Fellow with exceptions allowed in cases of financial hardship as determined by AGU)
  • Recognition at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • Four hotel nights and two tickets to the Honors Banquet at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded

Criteria for a Successful Nomination

  • The quality and impact of the nominee’s work on their field.
  • The extent to which the nominee’s work reaches a broad or traditionally underrepresented audience.
  • The originality/innovative nature of the nominee’s work.


The nominee must be an experienced senior scientist who is an established leader in their field.
Nominators must be active AGU members.
All Parties
Must be in compliance with AGU's conflict of interest and professional conduct policies.
Read AGU's Ethics Policies