mountains  auroras


Scholarship for graduate students

The Dr. Edmond M. Dewan Young Scientist Scholarship for Atmospheric Sciences and Space Physics encourages graduate students working on problems in the areas of atmospheric science and space physics. Recipients receive a $1,000 academic scholarship made possible by the Edmond M. Dewan Young Scientist Scholarship Fund and an award certificate. Recipients do not automatically receive a student travel grant for AGU’s Fall Meeting but are encouraged to apply separately.

Applications open: 10 February 2021

Application deadline: 15 April 2021

Dewan Scholarship
People looking up at the northern lights in Alaska

Applications are closed

Contact us

Eligibility and requirements

To be considered for the Dr. Edmond M. Dewan Young Scientist Scholarship for Atmospheric Sciences and Space Physics, you must meet the following requirements:

  • 1
    Be a current AGU student member
  • 2
    Be enrolled in graduate studies
  • 3
    Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.4 or the equivalent
  • 4
    Be studying topics related to atmospheric sciences and space physics
  • 5
    Include a project narrative, a description of the project (theoretical or applied research), which offers a statement of purpose, methods, and impact
  • 6
    Include a personal statement on why you are pursuing this project and what you hope to accomplish
  • 7
    You must also include a recommendation letter about the project from a faculty advisor


Leslie Marasco

Leslie Marasco

Student and Diversity Program Manager

202.777.7357 | [email protected]

Staff headshot of  Carissa Lundquist

Carissa Lundquist

Student Grants and Scholarship Coordinator

202.777.7442 | [email protected]



General inquiries

| [email protected]