Ascent Award
Congratulations 2023 Section Award and Lecture Honorees!
View Honorees

Ascent Award Selection Committee

Allison L Steiner

01 January 2017 - 31 December 2024

Timothy Bertram

University of Wisconsin Madison

01 January 2024 - 01 January 2027

Lance F Bosart

01 January 2022 - 31 December 2024

Yafang Cheng

Max Planck Institute for Chemistry

01 January 2022 - 31 December 2024

Isla Simpson

National Center for Atmospheric Research

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2025

Robert Wood

University of Washington Seattle

01 January 2024 - 01 January 2027

Debra Wunch

University of Toronto

01 January 2024 - 01 January 2027

Olivia Byrd

American Geophysical Union

Staff Partner

Ascent Award Committee members support the following initiatives and duties over a two-year term:
  • Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations is competitive
  • Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • Select the Ascent Award recipients
  • Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs
  • Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process