James R. Holton Award
Congratulations 2023 Section Award and Lecture Honorees!
View Honorees

Holton Award Selection Committee

Allison L Steiner

01 January 2021 - 31 December 2024

Yan Feng

Argonne National Laboratory

01 January 2022 - 31 December 2024

Nadir Jeevanjee

NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2025

Dylan B Millet

University of Minnesota

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2025

Jadwiga Richter

National Center for Atmospheric Research

01 January 2022 - 31 December 2024

Megan D Willis

Colorado State University Fort Collins

01 January 2024 - 01 January 2027

Holton Award Committee members support the following initiatives and duties over a two-year term:
  • Review data from honors selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award and lecture nominations is competitive
  • Select the Holton Award recipients
  • Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs