Walter Langbein Lecture
Congratulations 2023 Section Award and Lectures Honorees!
View Honorees
Career Stage
Award Type
Section Lectures
Of Note
Invitation to present at annual meeting;
Peer nomination required
Submission Window
17 January - 1 March
Established 1989

Recognizing Lifetime Contributions to the Science of Hydrology

The Walter Langbein Lecture is presented annually. It recognizes lifetime contributions of a senior scientist to the science of hydrology or unselfish cooperation in hydrologic research. The award is named to honor the life and work of hydrologist Walter B. Langbein.

The Langbein Lecture is also a part of the Bowie Lecture Series, established in 1989 to commemorate the 50th presentation of the William Bowie medal, AGU's highest honor.

Honor Benefits
Recipients receive the following:

  • A lecture certificate
  • Recognition at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • An invitation to present at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • Up to $2,000 in travel expenses to attend AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • Registration to AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • Ticket to the Hydrology section luncheon at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded

About the Hydrology Section

The Hydrology Section is concerned with the cycling of continental water (solid, liquid and vapor) at all scales, and with physical, chemical and biological processes driven by that cycling. The purpose of the section is "To promote the aims and activities of the American Geophysical Union within the field of hydrology and water resources including promoting the scientific study of hydrology and water resources and [making] the results of such studies available to the public; initiating and participating in hydrologic and water resource research programs including those which depend upon international cooperation, and promoting cooperation among [other] scientific organizations whose objectives include furtherance of knowledge in the hydrologic and water resource disciplines."


The nominee must be:
  • an active AGU member
  • an experienced senior scientist who is an established leader in their field
Nominators are not required to be active AGU members.
All Parties
Must be in compliance with AGU's conflict of interest and professional conduct policies.
Read AGU's Ethics Policies