Luna B. Leopold Early Career Award
Now Accepting Nominations!
Submit A Nomination

Leopold Young Scientist Award Selection Committee

Taylor F Schildgen

Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Francis K Rengers


01 January 2023 - 01 January 2025

Suzanne P Anderson

University of Colorado Boulder

01 January 2023 - 01 January 2025

Gordon E. Grant

US Forest Service Pacific Northwest Research Station

01 January 2023 - 01 January 2025

Kimberly M Hill

University of Minnesota

01 January 2023 - 01 January 2025

Leopold Young Scientist Award Committee members support the following initiatives and duties over a two-year term:
  • Select the Leopold Young Scientist Award recipient
  • Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations is competitive
  • Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nomination
  • Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs
  • Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process