2020 Honors banner

2020 Section Awardees & Named Lectures

AGU Section Honors Overview

AGU sections recognize the outstanding work of individuals in their scientific discipline every year by hosting nearly 30 named lecture presentations and presenting more than 40 awards and prizes. Awardees are chosen for their meritorious work or service toward the advancement and promotion of Earth and space sciences. These individuals, in various career stages, represent some of the most innovative minds in their disciplines.

Section Awards

Learn more about the program.

Learn More

Atmospheric and Space Electricity Section

Atmospheric and Space Electricity Early Career Award

Biogeosciences Section

Sulzman Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring

Thomas Hilker Early Career Award for Excellence in Biogeosciences

Cryosphere Sciences Section

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes Section

G. K. Gilbert Award in Surface Processes

Luna B. Leopold Young Scientist Award

Marguerite T. Williams Award

Robert P. Sharp Lecture

Earth and Space Science Informatics Section

Geodesy Section

Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism, and Electromagnetism Section Awards

Global Environmental Change Section

Bert Bolin Global Environmental Change Award and Lecture

Global Environmental Change Early Career Award

Piers J. Sellers Global Environmental Change Mid-Career Award

Stephen Schneider Lecture

Tyndall History of Global Environmental Change Lecture

Natural Hazards Section

Gilbert F. White Distinguished Award and Lecture

Natural Hazards Early Career Award

Natural Hazards Section Award for Graduate Research

Near-Surface Geophysics Section

GSSI Student Grant

Near-Surface Geophysics Early Career Achievement Award

Ocean Sciences Section

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology Section

Planetary Sciences Section

Eugene Shoemaker Lecture

Fred Whipple Award and Lecture

Ronald Greeley Early Career Award in Planetary Sciences

Seismology Section

Space Physics and Aeronomy Section

Basu United States Early Career Award for Research in Sun–Earth Systems Science

Fred L. Scarf Award

James Van Allen Lecture

Marcel Nicolet Lecture

Space Physics and Aeronomy Richard Carrington Education and Public Outreach Award

Sunanda and Santimay Basu International Early Career Award in Sun–Earth Systems Science

William B. Hanson Lecture

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Section

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Section Award for Graduate Research

Tectonophysics Section

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology Section

Joint Section Awards

Cesare Emiliani Lecture

Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service

Joint Student Grant

Dr. Edmond M. Dewan Young Scientist Scholarship