Night landscape with the Milky Way in Namibia in the Spitzkoppe area

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science

Information on the Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science

The Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science is given annually to an early career scientist from the African continent in recognition of significant work that shows the focus and promise of making outstanding contributions to research in space science.

Criteria for successful candidates includes showing the talent and drive necessary to excel in long careers in space science and their applications for the benefits to society. Established in 2015 by the generosity of Sunanda Basu, this award supports diversity in the Earth and space science community by recognizing excellence in research by African scientists and expanding opportunities for international collaboration on the African continent.

Single tree on the savanna with sun behind clouds

Award benefits

AGU is proud to recognize our honorees. Recipients of the Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science will receive an engraved award, as well as the following benefits:

  • 1
    $1,000 monetary prize
  • 2
    A three-year membership to AGU
  • 3
    Recognition in Eos
  • 4
    Recognition and invitation to present at the AGU Fall Meeting
  • 5
    Award winners are eligible for travel support and meeting registration for AGU Fall Meeting through the Lloyd V. Berkner Travel Fellowship Fund
  • 6
    Two complimentary tickets to the Honors Banquet at AGU’s Fall Meeting


To better understand eligibility for nominators, supporters, and committee members, review AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy. All individuals must be in compliance with the Conflict of Interest Policy.

  • 1
    Nominators: Nominators must be active AGU members and in compliance with the Conflict of Interest Policy. Duplicate nominations for the same individual will not be accepted. However, one co-nominator is permitted (but not required) per nomination.
  • 2

    Nominees must be: (1) a citizen or permanent resident of countries on the African continent, (2) be within 10 years of receiving Ph.D., and (3) received PhD from an African institution. AGU membership is not required. 

    PLEASE NOTE: Allowances to this eligibility requirement will be considered under AGU's Honors Program Career Stage Eligibility Requirement Allowance Policy. This policy grants allowances to the career stage eligibility requirement based on the following family or medical leave circumstances: childbirth; adoption; personal serious illness; primary caregiver of a person with a health condition, and any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that the spouse, child, or parent of the employee is engaged in military service. Allowances for other extenuating circumstances not covered in the above examples (i.e., economic hardship, other career breaks, etc.) can also be considered.

  • 3
    Supporters: Individuals who write letters of support for the nominee are not required to be active AGU members but must be in compliance with the Conflict of Interest Policy.
Silhouette rocks with stars above

Nomination package

Your nomination package must contain all of the following files, which should be no more than two pages in length per document. For detailed information on the requirements, review the Union Awards, Medals and Prizes Frequently Asked Questions.

  • A nomination letter with one-sentence citation (150 characters or less). Letterhead stationery is preferred. Nominator’s name, title, institution, and contact information are required. The citation should appear at either the beginning or end of the nomination letter.
  • A curriculum vitae for the nominee. Include the candidate’s name, address and email, history of employment, degrees, research experience, honors, memberships, and service to the community through committee work, advisory boards, etc.
  • A selected bibliography stating the total number, the types of publications and the number published by AGU.
  • Three letters of support not including the nomination letter. Letterhead is preferred. Supporter’s name, title, institution, and contact information are required.

Trees with sun rays and clouds in the background

Nominations are Open!

The nomination cycle for 2022 AGU Union awards, medals, and prizes is now open until 15 April. Nominate a colleague, peer or student today.

Illustration of chaos abstract fractal effect light design

Past recipients

Name Year of honor
Olawale S. Bolaji
Andrew Akala 2019
Frédéric Ouattara 2018
Meslessew Nigussie 2017
John Bosco Habarulema 2016



Honors Contacts

AGU Staff Headshot Moore

Artesha Moore

Vice President, Affiliation, Engagement & Membership

202-777-7530 | [email protected]

Graphic silhouette of a person

Leah Bland

Program Manager, Honors

202-777-7389 | [email protected]

AGU Staff Headshot Covington

Antonio Covington

Program Specialist, Section Awards and Lectures

202-777-7484 | [email protected]