Illustration of data and global information connecting

Data Management Advisory Board

Committee members



Committee Role

Erin Robinson

Earth Science Information Partners

Committee Chair

Tim Ahern

Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology


Sky Bristol

U.S. Geological Survey


Helen Glaves

British Geological Survey


Sophie Hou

National Center for Atmospheric Research/University Corporation for Atmospheric Research


Matt Jones

University of California Santa Barbara


M. Lynn Penn

Performance and Methods Consulting, LLC


H.K. Ramapriyan

Science Systems and Applications, Inc.


Jerry Sheehan

National Institutes of Health


Victoria Stodden

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Carly Strasser

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center


Lesley Wyborn

Australian National University


Shelley Stall


Staff Partner; Senior Director, Data Leadership

Committee charge

The committee provides overall guidance on the AGU data programs and related AGU efforts around open and FAIR data aimed at fulfilling the spirit of AGU’s data position statement[PDF]. Committee members guide and assist in increasing awareness, education, and adoption of best practices and other complementary practices specific to Earth and space science data domains. They provide insight and expertise for the administration of data programs, including assessments, geared towards Earth and space sciences to help improve data management understanding, operations in repositories, and to determine the level of adoption across the community. They also provide insight and expertise in communicating the importance of organizations complying with the Enabling FAIR Data Commitment Statement and support the community’s understanding of best practices for implementation.

Data board

Key initiatives

  • Provide input on materials and guidance documents to assist in the awareness and implementation of data management best practices.
  • Provide input on methods to promote open and FAIR Data.
  • Provide input on methods to promote best practices for repositories.

people using terrestrial laser scanning, or TLS, to gather detailed topographic data in the Trinity Peridotite of northern California