Silhouette trees with northern lights and long exposure stars in background

Fall Meeting Program Committee

Fall Meeting Program Committee members (by section)


Guy Brasseur, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Fall Meeting  Program Committee Chair
Union program

Nicole Oliphant
Assistant Director, Scientific Programs, Meetings, AGU

Sonja Behnke
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Morris Cohen
Georgia Institute of Technology 

Jennifer Comstock
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Susan van den Heever
Colorado State University

Nana Liu
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Kathryn Moore
Colorado State University Fort Collins

Laura Pan
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Kristina Pistone
Bay Area Environmental Research Institute Moffett Field

Min Chen
University of Wisconsin

Forrest Hoffman
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Avni Malhotra
Stanford University

Laura Meredith
University of Arizona

Kiya Riverman
University of Oregon

McKenzie Skiles
University of Utah

Melinda Webster
University of Alaska Fairbanks

Andrew Ashton
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Isamar Cortes
Montclair State University

Mackenzie Day
University of California Los Angeles

Kimberly Hill
University of Minnesota

Claire Masteller
Washington University in St Louis

Marisa Palucis
Dartmouth College

Noah Snyder
Boston College

Kyle Straub
Tulane University of Louisiana

Binita KC
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Jens Klump
CSIRO Mineral Resources

Manil Maskey
NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

Sudhir Shrestha
NOAA NWS Office of Water Prediction

Sanlyn Buxner
Planetary Science Institute  

Michelle Nichols
Adler Planetarium

Sujata Goswami
California Institute of Technology

Lei Wang
Ohio State University

Susan Anenberg
George Washington University

Morgan Gorris
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Daniel Tong
George Mason University

Ben Zaitchik
Johns Hopkins University

David Cairns
Texas A&M University College Station

Ben Kravitz
Indiana University Bloomington

Erwan Monier
University of California Davis

Sankar Arumugam
North Carolina State University

Hang Deng
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Viviana Maggioni
George Mason University

Hamid Moradkhani
University of Alabama

Christine McCarthy
Columbia University

Lowell Miyagi
University of Utah

Yekaterina Kontar
USGCRP (U.S. Global Change Research Program)

Robert Weiss
Virginia Tech

Greg Mount
Broward County Environmental Planning and Community Resilience Division

Sebastian Uhlemann
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Steven Fletcher
Colorado State University

Carol Arnosti
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Kendra Daly
University of South Florida Tampa

Steven D'Hondt
University of Rhode Island

Janet Sprintall
University of California San Diego

Michèle LaVigne
Bowdoin College

Tiffany Napier
MARUM Center for Marine Environmental Sciences

Ny Riavo Gilbertinie Voarintsoa
University of Houston

Alexander Thelen
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Jennifer Whitten
Tulane University

Padma Yanamandra-Fisher
Space Science Institute

Kathie Dello
North Carolina State University Raleigh

Chelsea Peters
Roanoke College

Alice-Agnes Gabriel
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Qinya Liu
University of Toronto

Romina Nikoukar
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
SPA - Aeronomy

Amy Keesee
University of New Hampshire
SPA - Magnetospheric Physics

Christina Lee
Space Sciences Laboratory
SPA - Solar and Heliospheric Physics

Colin Jackson
Tulane University of Louisiana

Miki Nakajima
University of Rochester

Patrick Fulton
Cornell University

Marianne Karplus
University of Texas at El Paso

Jing Liu-Zeng
Institute of Surface-Earth System Science, Tianjin University

Olivier Bachmann
ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich) 

Julie Prytulak
Durham University

Fall Meeting Program Committee charge

The Fall Meeting Program Committee is responsible for developing and organizing the entire scientific program. The committee members, under the direction of the Fall Meeting Program Committee chair, are essential to implementing strategies that achieve the AGU Board’s objectives to create innovative and impactful scientific meetings and to develop a dynamic program for the AGU Fall Meeting.

Meeting attendees gather to view rows of posters in the Poster Hall

Obligations of the Program Committee

The program committee members agree to uphold the following obligations:
  • 1
    They will give unbiased consideration to all session proposals and abstracts submitted to AGU meetings.
  • 2
    They will judge each session proposal and abstract on merit without regard to race, gender, religious belief, ethnic origin, citizenship, or political philosophy of the convener(s) and/or author(s).
  • 3
    The committee has the authority to accept or reject a session proposal or abstract on the basis of scientific merit or suggest modifications for consideration. 
  • 4
    An individual committee member will confer with other committee members, including the chair, to evaluate decisions to reject a session or abstract. The program committee is obligated to provide a reason to support modifications or suggestions.
  • 5
    The program committee and meetings staff will not disclose any information about a session proposal or abstract under consideration to anyone other than session conveners or abstract submitters.
  • 6
    The committee will respect the intellectual independence of session conveners and abstract submitters.
  • 7
    The program committee will avoid situations of conflicts of interest. Conflicts include: handling submissions from current and former students, colleagues with whom the committee member has recently collaborated, and those at the same institution.
Sunrising over ice and snow covered stream