Morning sunlight over Bryce Canyon, USA

Paul G. Silver Award Committee

Committee members

Name Institution
 Meghan Miller  UNAVCO, Inc. Chair
 Jean-Philippe Avouac California Institute of Technology Member
 Anny Cazenave LEGOS Member
 Julia Morgan  Rice University Member
 Anne Sheehan  University of Colorado Boulder Member
 Suzan van der Lee Northwestern University Member

Artesha Moore


Staff Partner; Vice President, Affiliation, Engagement, and Membership

Antonio Covington


Staff Partner; Program Specialist, Section Awards and Lectures

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Paul G. Silver Award. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Silver Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Aerial photo of the San Andreas Fault in the Carrizo Plain