Elections header

2020 AGU Elections

Upcoming AGU leadership elections

The AGU Leadership Development/Governance Committee and section and College of Fellows officers are proud to announce the slate of candidates for the 2020 AGU election. This year marks a turning point for AGU, with probably the most diverse slate of candidates ever presented for the Board of Directors and AGU officers. In addition to the usual process of identifying potential candidates, described in greater detail in the FAQs, we had the advantage this year of asking for suggestions from the recently formed Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee, which generated a large, diverse, and deep pool of potential candidates. Never have we had so many highly qualified people suggested for our leadership positions, most of whom enthusiastically agreed to be interviewed by the committee. We thank all who suggested candidates, and we thank all who participated in our interview process. Several of the sections also made an extra effort to solicit suggestions for their leadership positions and instituted interview processes.

Anticipating the Need for Implementing a New Strategic Plan

We are delighted to report that this year’s slate of candidates have the skills, experiences, and motivations to grapple with the challenges and opportunities presented by AGU’s bold new strategic plan, summarized by its the three major goals:

  • Catalyze discovery and solutions to scientific and societal challenges
  • Promote and exemplify an inclusive scientific culture
  • Partner broadly with other organizations and sectors to effectively address scientific and societal challenges
Renew Your Membership (If Needed) and Vote

AGU is offering an impressive and exciting slate of candidates for the 2021–2022 positions. Please exercise your right to influence the organization’s decisions and its future by making certain that your membership is current by 1 September and by voting in late September for the candidates you feel are most qualified to lead AGU as we launch our new strategic plan.

– Eric Davidson, Past President and Chair, Leadership Development/Governance Committee

Elections FAQs

Find answers to your questions about AGU's elections.

Read FAQs

AGU Board of Directors

The slate is now available.
View Candidates

AGU Council: Student and Early-Career

The Student and Early-Career slate is now available.
view candidates

AGU Sections and College of Fellows

The slate is now available.
view candidates


Elections header

Member Services

For questions about elections

800.966.2481 | [email protected]

Elections header

Cheryl Enderlein

Director, Leadership and Volunteer Services

202.777.7502 | [email protected]