1. AGU Home
  2. Honors Home
  3. Hydrologic Sc...
Hydrologic Sciences Award
Not Currently Accepting Nominations. Check Back in January!
Career Stage
Award Type
Section Award
Of Note
Peer nomination required
Submission Window
Mid-Jan - Mid-April
Established 1956

Recognizing Senior Scientists in Hydrology

The Hydrologic Sciences Award, which was known as the Robert E. Horton Award from 1956 to 1998, is presented annually and recognizes outstanding contributions to the science of hydrology over the course of the awardees’ careers. Successful nominees are senior scientists, with an emphasis on their contributions over the past five years.

Honor Benefits
Recipients receive the following:

  • An award certificate
  • Recognition in Eos
  • Recognition at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • Registration to AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded
  • Ticket to the Hydrology section luncheon that occurs at AGU's annual meeting the year the honor is awarded

About the Hydrology Section

The Hydrology Section is one of twenty-five sections in the American Geophysical Union. Its members are concerned with the cycling of continental water (solid, liquid and vapor) at all scales, and with physical, chemical and biological processes driven by that cycling. Of AGU's almost 60,000 members, about 7000 list their primary affiliation with the hydrology section.


The nominee must be:
  • an active AGU member
  • an experienced senior scientist who is an established leader in their field
Nominators/co-nominators must be active AGU members.
All Parties
Must be in compliance with AGU's conflict of interest and professional conduct policies.
Read AGU's Ethics Policies