Sunshine over the Grand Canyon


Committee Members (2022-2023)



Committee Role

Craig Manning

University of California Los Angeles

Committee Chair

Kandis Boyd

National Science Foundation


James Famiglietti

University of Saskatchewan


John F. Mustard

Brown University


Jean-Arthur Olive
Laboratoire de Geologie de l’Ecole Normale Superieure

Leah Bland


Staff Partner

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the William Bowie Medal. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Bowie Medal Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Bowie Medal is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Bowie committee charge

Key duties

The Bowie Medal Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from Bowie Medal selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of AGU Bowie Medal nominations is competitive
  • 3
    Select the Bowie medalists
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs