Climate change prize committee


Committee members



Committee Role

Isla Simpson

National Center for Atmospheric Research


Christopher Stephen Bretherton


Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence


Piers Forster


University of Leeds


Roberta Johnson


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Reto Knutti


ETH Zurich Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich


Brian C. McDonald

NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory


Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the Climate Communication Prize. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Climate Communication Prize Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Climate Communication Prize is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Climate change committee charge

Key duties

The Climate Communication Prize Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from Climate Communication Prize selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of the nominations are competitive
  • 3
    Select the Climate Communication Prize recipients
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs