Sunrise over grand canyon with river


Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Geodesy Awards and Lecture: John Wahr Early Career Award, Ivan I. Mueller Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership, Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service and the William Bowie Lecture. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Geodesy Awards Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the awards are sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Geodesist using theodolitewhile standing against wind turbine and sunset

Key Duties

The Geodesy Awards Committee supports the following initiatives and duties and serves a two-year term. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations is competitive
  • 2
    Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 3
    Select the Geodesy Awards recipients
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs

Committee Members

Laura M Wallace

GNS Science

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Jianli Chen

Hong Kong Polytechnic University

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Tonie M van Dam

University of Utah

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Benjamin Hamlington

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Andrew J Hooper

University of Leeds

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Lin Liu

Chinese University of Hong Kong

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024