Committee members (2020-2021)



Committee Role

Rina Schumer

Desert Research Institute

Committee Chair

Nandita Basu

University of Waterloo


Michael Dettinger

Scripps Institution of Oceanography


Manuela Girotto

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center


Oscar Mesa

Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Medellin


Peter Troch

University of Arizona


Nick Van De Giesen

Delft University of Technology


Leah Bland


Staff Partner; Program Manager, Honors

Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the Robert E. Horton Medal. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Horton Medal Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Horton Medal is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.


Key duties

The Horton Medal Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.

  • 1
    Review data from Horton Medal selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals.
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of AGU Horton Medal nominations are competitive.
  • 3
    Select the Horton medalists.
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations.
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes.
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements.
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs.