Lake with trees and reflection of stars


Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Hydrologic Sciences Early Career Award. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Hydrologic Sciences Early Career Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Eye level open water at sunrise

Key Duties

The Hydrologic Sciences Early Career Award Committee supports the following initiatives and duties and serves a two-year term. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.

  • 1
    Select the Hydrologic Sciences Early Career Award recipients
  • 2
    Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 3
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations is competitive
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 6
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs
  • 7
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 8
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements

Committee members



Committee Role

Ellen Wohl

Colorado State University

Committee Chair

James Mcnamara

Boise State University


Monica Riva

Politecnico di Milano


Fuqiang Tian

Tsinghua University


Andrew Western

Melbourne University


Robert Rader


Staff Partner; Vice President, Affiliation, Engagement, and Membership

Antonio Covington


Staff Partner; Program Specialist, Section Awards and Lectures