Barite mineral stone


Committee Members

Sergio Speziale 01 January 2022 - 01 January 2024

Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences


Hiroko Kitajima 01 January 2023 - 01 January 2025

Texas A&M University College Station


Jun Tsuchiya 01 January 2023 - 01 January 2025

Ehime University


Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the John C. Jamieson Student Paper Award. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Jamieson Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Key Duties

The John C. Jamieson Student Paper Award Committee supports the following initiatives and duties and serves a two-year term. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals.
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations is competitive.
  • 3
    Select the John C. Jamieson Student Paper Award recipients.
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations.
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes.
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements.
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs.

Committee Members



Committee Role

Heather Savage University of California Santa Cruz

Committee Chair

Jennifer Kung National Cheng-Kung University


Sergio Speziale Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences


Rosa Maymi


Staff Partner; Director, Engagement, and Membership

Brendon Kim


Staff Partner; Program Coordinator, Section Awards and Lectures