Lal Medal committee


Committee members (2020-2021)



Committee Role

Mark Baskaran

Wayne State University

Committee Chair

Paulo Artaxo

University of Sao Paulo


Lewis Ashwal

University of Witwatersrand


Anjuli Bamzai

National Science Foundation Office of Polar Programs


Ji Chen
University of Hong Kong Member

A.J. Timothy Jull

University of Arizona


Alejandro Tejedor

Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi


Leah Bland


Staff Partner; Program Manager, Honors

Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the Devendra Lal Medal. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Lal Medal Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Lal Medal is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

 Sunrise over a bed of rocks on side of mountain in Russia

Key Duties

The Lal Medal Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.

  • 1
    Review data from Lal Medal selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals.
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of Lal Medal nominations are competitive.
  • 3
    Select the Lal medalists.
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations.
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes.
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements.
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs.