Macelwane committee


Committee members



Committee Role

Balaji Rajagopalan

University of Colorado Boulder

Committee Chair

Emily Brodsky

University of California Santa Cruz


Jiwen Fan

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory


Susan Hough

USGS Pasadena


Tetsuo Irifune

Ehime University


Mark Jellinek

University of British Columbia


Marysa Lague

University of Saskatchewan


Toshi Nishimura

Boston University


Yeimy Rivera

Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics


Detlef Stammer

University of Hamburg


Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the James B. Macelwane Medal. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Macelwane Medal Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Macelwane Medal is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Macelwane committee charge

Key duties

The Macelwane Medal Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from Macelwane Medal selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals.
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of Macelwane Medal nominations are competitive
  • 3
    Select the Macelwane medalists
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nomination.
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes.
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements.
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs.