Pahroc Range in Nevada


Committee Members

Jolante van Wijk

Los Alamos National Laboratory

01 January 2022 - 31 December 2024

Rebecca E Bell

Imperial College London

01 January 2024 - 01 January 2026

Nadaya Cubas

01 January 2024 - 01 January 2026

Ake Fagereng

Cardiff University

01 January 2024 - 01 January 2026

Virginia Toy

Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz

01 January 2023 - 01 January 2025

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Jason Morgan Early Career Award. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Morgan Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups
Aerial photo of the San Andreas Fault in the Carrizo Plain

Key Duties

The Morgan Award Committee supports the following initiatives and duties and serves a two-year term. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations are competitive
  • 3
    Select the Morgan Award recipient
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs