Multiple lightning strikes on a stormy evening behind a city.


Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Natural Hazards Section Award for Graduate Research. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Natural Hazards Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Sahara Desert storm cloud

Key Duties

The Natural Hazards Section Award for Graduate Research Committee supports the following initiatives and duties and serves a two-year term. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals.
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations is competitive.
  • 3
    Select the Natural Hazards Section Award for Graduate Research recipient.
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations.
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes.
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements.
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs.

Committee Members



Committee Role

Thomas Oomen

Michigan Technological University

Committee Chair
Suzana Camargo Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory Member
Ning Lin Princeton University Member
Lauren Schaefer USGS Geologic Hazards Science Center Member
Rosa Maymi


Staff Partner; Director, Engagement, and Membership

Brendon Kim


Staff Partner;

Program Coordinator, Section Awards and Lectures