Sunset with clouds over open water


Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Space Physics and Aeronomy Richard Carrington Education and Public Outreach (SPARC) Award. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the SPARC Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Earth's magnetic field, the Earth, the solar wind, the flow of particles. Sun

Key Duties

The SPARC Award Committee supports the following initiatives and duties and serves a two-year term. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award nominations are competitive
  • 3
    Select the SPARC Award recipients
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs

Committee members



Committee Role

Toshi Nishimura Boston University 

Committee Chair

Muhammad Fraz Bashir University of California Los Angeles   Member 
Mark Cheung  Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory  Member 

Rosa Maymi 


Staff Partner; Director, Engagement and Membership

Brendon Kim              


Staff Partner; Program Coordinator, Section Awards and Lectures