Science for solutions award committee


Committee Members (2022-2023)



Committee Role

Joellen Russell

University of Arizona

Committee Chair

Susan Eriksson



David Hannah

University of Birmingham


Benjamin Zaitchik

Johns Hopkins University


Leah Bland


Staff Partner

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the Science for Solutions Award. Committee members will abide by AGU’s AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Science for Solutions Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Science for Solutions Award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Science for solutions committee charge

Key Initiatives

The Science for Solutions Award Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from Science for Solutions Award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals.
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of AGU Science for Solutions Award nominations are competitive.
  • 3
    Select the Science for Solutions Award recipients.
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nomination
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes.
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements.
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ rewards and recognition programs.