Simpson medal committee


Committee Members



Committee Role

Barbara Giles

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Committee Chair

Rong Fu

University of California Los Angeles


Shuichi Kodaira

JAMSTEC Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology


Sebastien Merkel

Université de Lille


Julie Prytulak

Durham University


Nicole Riemer

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Andrea Rinaldo

EPFL Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne


Hong Zhao

Auburn University


Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of the Joanne Simpson Medal. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Simpson Medal Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Simpson Medal is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Simpson medal committee charge

Key duties

The Simpson Medal Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from Simpson Medal selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals.
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of Simpson Medal nominations are competitive.
  • 3
    Select the Simpson medalists.
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nomination.
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes.
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process.
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements.
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs.