Image or sunrise or sunset taken in Gardiners Bay at the eastern end of Long Island, NY


Committee members (2022-2023)



Committee Role

Millard Coffin

University of Tasmania

Committee Chair

Rosalind Coggon

University of Southampton


Brandon Dugan

Colorado School of Mines


Shuoshuo Han

University of Texas at Austin


Fumio Inagaki

Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology


Ursula Röhl

University of Bremen


Yusuke Yokoyama

University of Tokyo


Leah Bland


Staff Partner

Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipient of The Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Taira Prize Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Taira Prize is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Taira committee charge

Key duties

The Taira Prize Committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from Taira Prize selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of AGU Taira Prize nominations are competitive
  • 3
    Select the Taira Prize recipients
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs