Beno Gutenberg Lecture
Now Accepting Nominations!
Submit A Nomination

Beno Gutenberg Lecture Selection Committee

Anne Meltzer

Lehigh University

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

William R Walter

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Clara E Yoon

USGS Earthquake Science Center Pasadena

01 January 2023 - 31 December 2024

Beno Gutenberg Lecture Committee members support the following initiatives and duties over a two-year term:
  • Review data from honors selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of lecture nominations are competitive
  • Select the Gutenberg lecturers
  • Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nomination
  • Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs