Abstract illustration space and stars


Committee Members (2018-2019)



Committee Role

Endawoke Yizengaw

Boston College

Committee Chair

Anthea Coster

MIT Haystack Observatory


Joseph Davila

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center


Odile de la Beaujardiere

Air Force Research Laboratory (retired)


John Bosco Habarulema

South African National Space Agency


Chigomezyo Ngwira

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center


James Wanliss

Presbyterian College


Leah Bland


Staff Partner; Honors Program Coordinator

Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education and outreach. The members of the Africa Award Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the Africa Award is sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.

Square image of space and stars

Key initiatives

The committee supports the following initiatives and duties. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, by teleconference and email.

  • 1
    Review data from past selection processes to determine if the program is aligned with AGU’s goals
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of nominations are competitive
  • 3
    Select the Africa Award for Research Excellence Space Science recipient
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominees and nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations and workshops on associated policies and procedures
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders, staff and other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ rewards and recognition programs