Ocean waves at sunset, with the coast and tall clouds in the distance


Committee charge

The committee is charged with selecting the recipients of the Ocean Sciences Honors: Ocean Sciences Award, Ocean Sciences Early Career Award, Ocean Sciences Voyager Award, Carson Lecture, Reeburgh Lecture, and the Sverdrup Lecture. Committee members will abide by AGU’s Honors Conflict of Interest Policy, program policies, procedures and guidelines set by AGU. In partnership with the Honors and Recognition Committee and staff, the committee works to ensure that the program is superior in all respects, recognizes all constituents, and fosters a global network of individuals in the Earth and space sciences who epitomize excellence and cooperation in research, education, and outreach. The members of the Ocean Sciences Honors Committee will promote excellence and transparency, allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards, promoting diversity and equity so that the awards and lectures are sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Waves crashing on shore at Cape Point, South Africa

Key duties

The Ocean Sciences Honors Committee supports the following initiatives and duties and serves a two-year term. Their work is completed primarily through the online submission and review system, and by teleconference and email.
  • 1
    Review data from award selection processes for the past years to determine if the program is achieving AGU’s relevant goals
  • 2
    Examine and report on program data to determine whether the number and quality of award and lecture nominations is competitive
  • 3
    Select the Ocean Sciences Awards and Lectures recipient
  • 4
    Recommend, implement, and evaluate strategies used to increase diversity of nominations
  • 5
    Participate in training, orientations, and workshops on associated Honors and Recognition policies and processes
  • 6
    Understand and commit to AGU’s Conflict of Interest policy and process
  • 7
    Provide input and recommendations to the Honors and Recognition Committee on program improvements
  • 8
    Partner with AGU leaders and staff, as well as other societies to resolve common issues among scientific communities’ recognition programs

Committee Members



Committee Role

Robert Anderson  Columbia University 

Committee Chair

Carol Arnosti  University of Carolina at Chapel Hill 


Kendra Daly  University of South Florida Tampa 


Steven D'Hondt  University of Rhode Island 


Charles Nittrouer  University of Washington Seattle 


Clare Reimers  Oregon State University 


Janet Sprintall  University of California San Diego 


Rosa Maymi              


Staff Partner; Director,

Engagement, and Membership

Brendon Kim 


Staff Partner;

Program Coordinator, Section Awards and Lectures