Earth Sunrise and Milky Way Illustration

Union and Section Fellows Selection Committees (2020-2021)

Union Fellows Committee Members



Committee Role

 Primary Section Affiliation  Secondary Section Affiliations 

Eric S. Saltzman

University of California Irvine

Interim Committee Chair

Atmospheric Sciences Cryosphere, Global Environmental Change, Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology  
 James Best University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign  Member EPSP Global Environmental Change, Hydrology, Natural Hazards, Volcanology, Geology, and Petrochemistry 
 Gabriel Bowen   University of Utah  Member  Biogeosciences Global Environmental Change, Hydrology, Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology 
Gia Destouni Stockholm University


Hydrology Atmospheric Sciences, Biogeosciences, Cryosphere, Global Environmental Change, Ocean Science
Mei-Ching Fok  NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Member  Space Physics and Aeronomy  N/A
Miaki Ishii Harvard University Member Seismology  Natural Hazards, Study of Earth's Deep Interior 
Peter Kelemen Columbia University  Member  Volcanology, Geology, and Petrochemistry  Study of Earth's Deep Interior, Mineral and Rock Physics, Global Environmental Change, Hydrology
Stephen Mackwell American Institute of Physics Member  Planetary Sciences  Volcanology, Petrology, and Geochemistry, Mineral and Rock Physics 
Richard Norby Oak Ridge National Laboratory Member  Biogeosciences Global Environmental Change
Adina Paytan University of California Santa Cruz Member  Ocean Sciences  Atmospheric Sciences, Biogeosciences, Education, Global Environmental Change, Hydrology, Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
Ann Pearson Harvard University
Member Biogeosciences  Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology, Ocean Sciences
A R Ravishankara Colorado State University Fort Collins


Atmospheric Sciences Earth and Planetary Surface Processes, Hydrology 
Uri S. ten Brink  USGS Coastal and Marine Science Center Woods Hole


Tectonophysics  Seismology, Natural Hazards 
Weijian Zhou Institute of Earth Environment


Global Environmental Change Geomagnetism Paleomagnetism and Electromagnetism, Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology 

Hannah Hoffman


Staff Partner; Honors Program Coordinator 


Artesha Moore


Staff Partner; Vice President, Engagement and Membership


Committee charge and work plan

The Union Fellows Committee is charged with selecting from among the membership those individuals who should be honored with the designation of Fellow in recognition of their acknowledged eminence in Earth and space science. Committee members have the following responsibilities:

  • 1
    Annually selecting eminent Union Fellows, making sure that the number of Fellows each year does not exceed 0.1 percent of the total membership.
  • 2
    Determining policies and procedures to meet the committee charge in a manner consistent with AGU’s bylaws, values and other relevant policies and procedures.
  • 3
    Assuming responsibility for vetting candidates prior to the final selection and protecting the confidentiality of the newly-elected Fellows until appropriate time for announcement.
  • 4
    Providing feedback to section committees regarding promising nominations that are not successful in a given year.
  • 5
    Working with the Honors and Recognition Committee to recommend AGU-wide policies to enhance the effectiveness of the Fellows program.
  • 6
    Promoting excellence and transparency and allowing broad input and recognition beyond disciplinary awards.
  • 7
    Promoting diversity and commitment to equity to ensure that all awards are sufficiently representative of underrepresented groups.
Earth from space with sunrise and stars